Latest News County Clare

Considine returns to Clare team

in Home/Sport by

Ailish Considine returns to the Clare’s intermediate ladies football lineup for the first time this year as they begin their All-Ireland championship campaign on Sunday.

She is one of four changes from their Munster Final defeat to Tipperary with captain Laurie Ryan, Áine Keane and Fidelma Marrinan named ahead of Caitriona Callinan, Tara Kelly, Roisin Looney and Aisling Reidy.

In March of this year as James Murrihy’s side competed in the National League, Ailish was part of the Adelaide Crows outfit that won the AFL Women’s League, becoming the first Clare woman to achieve such an honour.

Attention is firmly switched to ladies football matters with fourteen teams commencing the race to lift the Mary Quinn Memorial Cup. Clare are paired in Group 3 alongside Wexford and Laois.

Sunday’s tie sees them face off with Wexford managed by former senior netminder, Anthony Masterson. Both teams reached the quarter-finals for the past two seasons.

Manager James Murrihy is keen for his charges to hit the ground running this weekend. “There is an element of knock-out football about Sunday’s game because if we can beat Wexford the confidence will be up and we can hopefully carry that into the Laois match whereas we don’t want to be depending on the third game between Wexford and Laois to sort out score difference or be depending on a result”.

Shanahan McNamara Memorial Grounds, Doonbeg hosts Sunday’s clash between Clare and Wexford with 1pm the start-time.

1: Ciara Harvey (West Clare Gaels)
2: Áine Keane (St Josephs Miltown)
3: Ellie O’Gorman (Kilmihil)
4: Grainne Harvey (West Clare Gaels)
5: Carol O’Leary (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
6: Laurie Ryan (Banner)
7: Siofra Ní Chonnail (St Josephs Doora/Barefield)
8: Orla Devitt (Éire Óg)
9: Eimear O’Connor (Cúil Gaels)
10: Roisin Considine (Liscannor)
11: Ailish Considine (Kilmihil)
12: Caoimhe Harvey (West Clare Gaels)
13: Grainne Nolan (Banner)
14: Niamh O’Dea (Banner)
15: Fidelma Marrinan (West Clare Gaels)

1: Mary Rose Kelly (St Fintans)
2: Niamh Mernagh (Horeswood)
3: Marica Cullen (St Annes)
4: Aoife Tormey (Clonard/Volunteers)
5: Clara Donnelly (Shelmalier)
6: Shauna Murphy (Shelmalier)
7: Sarah Harding Kenny (Shelmalier)
8: Kellie Kearney (Shelmalier)
9: Bernie Breen (Baile Dubh Tire)
10: Niamh Butler (Clonard/Volunteers)
11: Aisling Murphy (Gusserane)
12: Niamh Moore (Kilmore)
13: Fiona Rochford (St Annes)
14: Maria Byrne (Kilmore)
15: Chloe Foxe (Clongeen)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top