No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

Ann C. Harte’s lady captain’s day took place at East Clare on Sunday when Rachel Whelan (22) emerged as the winner with 42 points.

She had one to spare over Mary Farrell (40) who was followed by Helen Ahern (24) with 40 points, Kathleen O’Brien (22) with 39 points, Bridget Minogue (28) with 39 points, Maureen Clune (31) with 38 points, Marie Donnellan (23) with 37 points and Bernie Cox (29) with 37 points.

Eileen Donnellan (14) won the gross with 23 points while Noreen Skehan (25) won the past captain’s category with 37 points.

Ursula Hogan (34) won the front 9 with 21 points with Evelyn Skehan (18) taking the back 9 honours with 18 points.

Pauline Nugent was nearest the pin while Catherine Minogue won the long drive
the 9 hole competition winner was Kay Grimes.
Brendan Moloney (21) won the lady captain’s prize to the men with 42 points from Shane McInerney 912) with 40 points. They were followed by Seamus Cawley (12) with 40 points and Damian Keniry (13) with 40 points. Eric McNamara (5) won the gross with 40 points.

The lady captain’s prize to the senior men was won by Michael Hayes (21) with 44 points from Paddy Moloney (27) with 42 points and Noel Scully (15) with 42 points.

Kilrush Golf CLub

The Patrick Bourke men’s open singles at Kilrush on Sunday was won by Darragh Bolton (20) with 44 points from Noel McMahon (12) who had 42 points. Eric Dore (17) was third with 41 points followed by John Sherin (17), also with 41 points. The category winners were Richard Williams (14) with 41 points, Cian O’Mahony (17) with 41 points and Brendan Carey (20) with 38 points.

The Rush cup men’s open was the competition on Saturday when the winner was Nathan Capon (20) with 46 points from Feargal S. Crowley (16) with 41 points and Nevan Prendeville (13) with 40 points, The category winners were John M Cuggeran (11) with 38 points, Seamus O’Doherty (15) with 35 points and John Robinson (24) with 39 points.

Mary Nolan (18) won the ladies open Rush cup competition with 38 points from Agnes Shannon (21) with 37 points with third spot filled by Denise Delahunty (234) from Shirley golf club with 37 points.

Thursday’s ladies competition sponsored by A O N Physiotherapy was won by Margaret Donnelly (18) with 37 points from Mary G. Nolan (19) with 37 points with Geraldine Burke (18) in third spot and she also scored 37 points. The 12 hole winner was Loretta Browne.

Ennis Golf Club:

The ladies Gaiety cup fourball competition at Ennis, sponsored by Michael Sullivan Carpers, was won by Nuala D’Auria (34) and Joan Tassie (38) with 45 points.

They had five to spare over Helen Harnett (22) and Ann Pyne Gallery (16) with third spot filled by Kitty Morris (13) and Yvonne Keohane (16) with 39 points.

Ann White (16) won the 9 hole competition with 21 points from Pat Leacy (18) with 18 points, Joan Tassie (21) with 17 points, Ethna Murphy (16) with 16 points and Geraldine O’Mahoney (13) with 16 points.

In the lady improvers 9 hole competition the winners were Muriel O’Meara (26) with 13 points on Sunday and Sinead O’Sullivan (27) with 11 points on Wednesday.

In the president’s prize to the ladies the winner was Kate Keohane from Lourda Fox with Helen Harnett in third spot followed by Aideen Considine. Shannon Hegarty won the gross.

In category A, Mary Lenihan won from Yvonne Keohane while Maureen Moloney won category B from Patricia Kerwin. The 9 hole winner was Marian Irwin
Last week’s senors outing was won by Anne Kelly, Eileen Corry and Maureen Maloney with 39 points from Carmel Verliing, Eileen Holly and Mary Murray with a similar score. In third place, also with 39 points, were Betty O’Reilly, Betty O’Riordan and Mary Gardiner.

Dromoland Golf Club:

The Friday open singles at Dromoland was won by Dylan Brown with 42 points from Alan Neville with 40 and Cillian Hough with 38. David Callanan won the gross with 38.

Last week’s 9 hole competition was won by Declan Colleran with 23 points from Eoghan Smith with 21 and John Canny with 19.

The men’s 18 hole stroke pay competition off the blue tees at the weekend was won by Killian Howard with 68 gross (69 nett) from Michael Lally with 72 nett. Nicki Duggan won the gross with 75.

The competition off the white tees was won by Brian Arthur with 67 from Cian Connellan with 68 and Damian O’Malley with 69. George Smith won the gross with 80.

The winner of the ladies 18 hole stroke play competition at the weekend was Julie Fitzgerald with 74 from Carola Wixted with 76 while the 9 hole stableford competition at the weekend ws won by Mairead Toomey with 19 points from Carola Wixted with 17 points.

Woodstock Golf Club:

John Dempsey(20) won president Matt Power’s prize at Woodstock at the weekend with 44 points from Mike Kelly (19) who had a similar score. Tony Coote (18) was third with 42 points followed by Mike Liddy (20) with 41 points. Colm Mullen(4) won the gross with 36 points.

The category winners were (0-5) Tony Nugent (4) with 33 points, (6-12) Rory O’Connor (11) with 39 points, (13-20) Michael O’Malley(20) with 39 points and (21+) Vincent McInerney (24)with 40 points.

Jimmie Kelly won the past president’s prize while the seniors section was won by Donie O’Shea (18) with 37 points. John O’Donovan won the guests section with 37 points.

Last Wednesday’s open singles was won by Brian Aherne (8) with 42 points from John O’Connor (11) with 41 points and Jim Carmody (9), also with 41 points. Kieran Cunnane (2) won the gross with 39 points.

The ESB club championship will be the competition this weekend and it will be a strokeplay event.

Fanny O’Deas society

Thirty played in the Fanny O’Deas golf society outing at Woodstock on Saturday when Declan Kelly (26) emerged as the winner with 43 points. He had one to spare over Enda Finnucane (14) with Alan Hogan (36) in third spot with 41 followed by tony McMahon (19) with 35 and Tim Shanahan (30) with 35. the scramble winner was Michael Stephens.

The society’s next outing will be on October 2 to Adare Manor when the sponsor will be Dermot Custy construction.

Related News

Scroll to Top