Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

Cratloe’s Tony Considine has guided Kilmallock to Limerick SHC glory for the third time.

Kilmallock were crowned Limerick SHC champions for the twelfth time after they overcame roll of honour leaders Patrickswell 1-24 0-19.

Considine, a selector to Ger Loughnane when Clare won All-Ireland SHC titles in 1995 and 1997 has now won four senior championships following his success with Kilmallock in 2010, 2012 and 2021 plus the 2005 win with Garryspillane.

His feat now equals that of All-Ireland winner Ger ‘Sparrow’ O’Loughlin who also won four titles in the Limerick SHC over Adare (2007, 2008 and 2009) and Kilmallock (2014).

Former Clare footballer, Odran O’Dwyer was part of Considine’s Kilmallock management. Limerick hurler Graeme Mulcahy aged thirty one received the man of the match accolade for The Balbec.

It continues the trend of Clare men overseeing the success of Limerick clubs, notably Sean Stack with Na Piarsaigh (2011 and 2013), Jim Fawl also of Sixmilebridge who was in charge of Patrickswell in 2003. Shannon’s Alan Cunningham was coach to Na Piarsaigh when the Caherdavin club won their only All-Ireland club title in 2016.

Patrickswell were managed by Sixmilebridge’s John O’Meara who led his native club to three Clare SHC titles during his six year tenure in the past decade. His fellow club man, Sean Chaplin was coach of The Well outfit, the only goal they conceded in the championship was Oisin O’Reilly’s green flag fifty four minutes into the decider.

Tommy Liddy of Sixmilebridge was involved with the Effin side that were crowned Limerick intermediate champions on Saturday. He was coach of The Banner when the Ennis club sealed their return to the Junior A ranks last year.

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks