No account yet? Register

*Eddie Bourke beats the challenge of David Fitzgerald. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

According to the saying ‘hunger is the best sauce’ and at a sun splashed Wolfe Tones grounds in Shannon this Saturday afternoon Smith O’Briens showed by far the greater hunger as they eked out a surprise but merited one point win over a fancied Inagh/Kilnamona side in round two of the Clare SHC.

Smith O’Briens 2-15
Inagh/Kilnamona 0-20
Venue: Wolfe Tones GAA Grounds, Shannon

Behind by three points at half time having recorded seven wides, some from great positions, things didn’t look good for the Killaloe side but four unanswered points at the start of the second half saw them bounce back strongly and from here on they grew in confidence.

They were five up with ten minutes remaining when Micheal Ryan picked up a second yellow card and this reduced the winners to fourteen men.

Aidan McCarthy who scored 0-15 for Inagh/Kilnamona kept them in contention and while they piled on the pressure in the closing minutes scoring the final three points of the game, Smith O’Briens held firm and emerged with a merited win which puts them right back into contention to qualify for the play offs from this group.

At the end of the opening quarter the Inagh/Kilnamona men led by double scores, 0-6 to 0-3 and they had pushed 0-9 to 0-4 ahead with six minutes remaining in the half.

A great run by Tommy Reddan resulted in a penalty which Keith Stritch converted and when the half time whistle sounded it was 0-12 to 1-6 in favour of last year’s finalists.

Four unanswered points at the start of the second half saw Smith O’Briens take a one point lead but Inagh/Kilnamona hit back with three in a row to go two clear. Two Tommy Reddan efforts leveled the tie before an attempted short puck put by Eamonn Foudy was intercepted and the end result was a David O’Shea goal which sent the Killaloe side on the road to victory.

Scorers Smith O’Briens: Tommy Reddan (0-9 7f), David O’Shea (1-1); Keith Stritch (1-0 1’Pen); Marc O’Halloran (0-2); Cian Moloney, Mikey O’Shea, Patrick Aherne (0-1) each;

Scorers Inagh/Kilnamona: Aidan McCarthy (0-15 10f); Niall Mullins (0-2); Evan McNamara, Sean Rynne, Josh Guyler (0-1) each

Smith O’Briens
1: Mark McInerney

2: Cian Moloney
5: Cian Nolan
4: Mark Stritch

6: Eddie Bourke

18: Shane Geraghty
3: David Gough
7: Dwayne Sheedy

8: Micheal Ryan
10: Marc O’Halloran

9: Tommy Reddan
12: Patrick Aherne
11: Keith Stritch

14: Mikey O’Shea
15: David O’Shea

17: Evan Connolly for Moloney (48)
20: John Cusack for Aherne (54)
13: Jason Monahan for M. O’Halloran (60)

1: Eamonn Foudy

2: Cathal McConigley
7: Damian Lafferty
4: Colin Shannon

5: Shane Woods
6: Jason McCarthy
9: David Fitzgerald

8: Darren Cullinan
20: Seamus Foudy

10: Evan McNamara
11: Sean Rynne
12: David Mescall

13: Josh Guyler
14: Aidan McCarthy
19: Niall Mullins

3: Kevin Hehir for Shannon (HT)
21: Conner Hegarty for Guyler (39)
17: Shane Mc Inerney for McNamara (50)
15: Keelan Guyler for Mullins (53)

Referee: Chris Maguire (Wolfe Tones)

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks