Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Miriam Magner Flynn, CEO, Career Decisions (left) is pictured with Tim Crowe and Davy Fitzgerald, representatives from the winning team in the Shannon Chamber Classic 2021, who received their crystal trophies from Helen Downes, CEO, Shannon Chamber. Photograph by Eamon Ward

Despite having to, once again, postpone its annual Golf Classic until the autumn rather than hold it on its normal mid-summer date, Shannon Chamber welcomed 35 teams, involving 140 players, to the fairways of Shannon Golf Club last week. 

The victorious team, representing Career Decisions and comprising Tim Crowe and Davy Fitzgerald (Dromoland GC), Joe Hartnett (Fota Island GC) and Kevin O Hara (Ballykisteen GC) claimed the crystal trophies, sponsored by Gift Innovations, and four pairs of flights, sponsored by Shannon Airport.

The Smithstown Light Engineering team, comprising Phil Alldritt and Fergus Cooney (Dromoland GC), Jason Travis (Ballyneety GC) and Conor Mc Philips (Shannon GC) were runners up and also received crystal trophies sponsored by Gift Innovations.

Third and fourth places were taken by teams from Invesco Ltd., and Powcon Ltd. Nearest the pin was won by Declan Costelloe (Limerick GC) playing on the DHL Global Forwarding team whilst the longest drives, men’s and ladies’ were won by Ed Rossiter (Castletroy GC) playing on the Invesco Ltd. team and Suzanne Mc Conway (Dromoland GC) representing AIB.

Ennis Golf Club:
The Lions and cups team of three modified scramble at Ennis was won by Mary McMahon (19), Carmel Verling (17) and Brid Cunningham (17) with 64 nett. They had one to spare over Della Burns (14), Maura Ryan (22) and Mary Lenihan (13) with third spot filled by Rita O’Brien (15), Patricia Moroney (14), and Lourda Fox (18) with 66 nett.

In the ladies 9 hole stableford competition Anne McMahon (25) from East Clare was the winner with 198 points from Emer McHale(18) with a similar score. Joan Tassie (21) was third, also with 18 points. The winner of the lady improvers competition over 9 holes was Sinead O’Sullivan (27) with 44 nett.

In the senior ladies outing last week the winners were Peig Cleary, Mary McMahon, and Eileen J Corry with 50.1 points from Mary Gardiner, Joan Tassie, and Mary Murray with 50.25. In third spot with 52.5 were Geraldine O’Mahoney, Frances 0’Reilly and Joan Cullinan Coote.

The Ennis golf club’s classic was an excellent success attracting a huge response. Woodstock members Cian Moloney (12), Kevin McNamara (13), Bryan O’Loughlin (12) and Noel Casey (16) were the winners with 92 points from Ollie Kennelly (21), Tony Lawler (14), Michael O’Reilly (20) and Eamonn Corry (14) all from Ennis, who had a similar score.

On third spot with 91 points were John McNamara (11), Noel Normoyle (12), Flan Lyons (10) and Eddie Glenny (14) Ennis followed by another Ennis team of Joe Griffin (12), Darragh Carmody (14), Michael Meagher (8) and Martin Moran (3) with 89 points.

Conor Gleeson (10), David O’Loughlin (19), Colin Heaslip (9) and Shay Drohan (9) were next, also with 89 points while sixth spot was filled by Eugene Quinn (24), John O’Donovan (19), Seamus Kelly (15) and Nicholas Germaine (22) from Woodstock with 88 points. Sixty five teams played in the men’s section.

The winners of the ladies section which had fifteen teams were Mary McMahon (23), Carmel Verling (21), Brid Cunningham (21), Una Patton (26) with 87 points from Anne Casey (26), Aideen Considine (24), Eilis Neville (34) and Connie Corry (20) with 80 points with third spot filled by Rita O’Brien (18), Ann O’Loughlin (16), Patricia Moroney (18) and Marianne McGough (19) with 78 points.

The presentation of prizes is scheduled for 8.30pm on Sunday night

Woodstock Golf Club:
Woodstsock president Matt Power’s prize to the ladies was won by Chaye Kelly with 38 points. She had one to spare over Mary Sweeney with Fiona Landy, also with 37 points, in third spot followed by Marinne McGough on 35 points. The winners of the nines were Fran Feighery with 19 points and Eilis Neville with 17. Fiana Power won the 9 hole competition while the guest’s prize was won by Kathleen Frehill, Ennis with 25 points.

Dromoland Golf Club:
Ken Breen won the Friday open singles at Dromoland with 42 points from Eamon Power with 39 and Alan Leamy, also with 39 while Jason Ryan won the gross with 36 points.

Last week’s 9 hole competition was won by Billy O’Mahoney with 19 points from David O’Brien with 19 and Shane O’Brien, also with 19.

Shane O’Brien won the weekend’s 28 hole stableford competition with 43 points from Brian McNamara with 41 and Jack Hannan with 41. Robin Mounsey won the 18 and over category with 39 points while the gross was won by Killian Howard with 38 points.

The ladies Autumn major was won by Mairead Bergin with 38 points from Geraldine Ryan with 36, Suzanne McConway with 35 and Julie Fitzgerald with 35. Leslie O’Flynn won the gross with 23 points while the nines were won by Catherine Quinn with 20 points and Mairead Toomey with 19 points. Colette Torpey won the 9 hole competition with 19 points. While nearest the pin was Geraldine Ryan and Siobhan Fitzpatrick won the long drive.

Kilrush Golf Club:
The Munster Group men’s open singles at Kilrush was won by Jim Kelly (27) with 48 points from Joe Chambers (19) with 44, Patrick Coleman (19) with 44 and Paraic Cotter (15), Dromoland with 44.

The category winners were George Nolan (15) with 39, Michael Cooney (16) with 40 points and John Stapleton (23) with 44 points.

In the open singles on Saturday Tom G. Smyth Senior (18) won with 42 points from Patrick Coleman (17) with 41 points and Pat Mulcahy (19) with 41 points. Last week’s ladies singles was won by Geraldine Burke (19) with 39 points from Mary McCarthy (29) with 38 points and Ursula Lineen (27) with 38 points.

Gort Golf Club:
Paul Brennan (5) was the winner of the 18 hole singles, sponsored by Cosyhome Heating, at Gort at the weekend with 40 points. Liam Perkins (10) was second with 38 points with third spot filled by Mike O’Connor (18), also with 38 points, Colman Cooney (5) won the gross with 31 points

East Clare Golf Club:
Player of the year awards for three members at East Clare golf club were confirmed this week.

John Duffy is the player of the year for the stroke competition off the white tees while Michael Darcy is the player of the year for the stableford competitions off the yellow tees. Noreen Doyle has won the ladies golfer of the year title. The wins have come about following consistent golf by all three during 2021.

St Breckans GAA Golf Classic:
There was a big turnout for the St. Breckans GAA club’s golf classic which took place at Woodstock last week, marking the 50th anniversary of the Lisdoonvar\na based club.

The winners of the team of four outing were Pat Curtis (16), Gus Connors (16), David Daly (19) and Kieran Reidy (21) with 118 points. The Corofin men are all members of Gort Golf club.

In second place with 113 points were Kieran Keating (14), Mark (29) and Fintan Ward (12) and Mike O’Brien (20) with 113 points. In third spot with 109 points were Martin Flaherty (21), Michael Ryan (31), Brendan McDonagh (15) and Gerry O’Donnell (19) with fourth spot filled by Jody O’Connor (9), Joe McGrath (20) Paul Lehane (10) and Vincent Loughnane (31) with 106 points. Greg O’Leary was nearest the pin while Darren O’Neill won the long drive.

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks