Latest News County Clare

Motion to limit tenure of County Board delegates defeated

in Home/Sport by

*Clonbony delegates at the Clare GAA Convention. Photograph: John Mangan

GAA club delegates in Clare will not be subject to a maximum five year tenure, as a Tulla motion was overwhelmingly defeated.

“Club delegates to the County Board meetings be subject to the five year rule,” read the motion submitted by Tulla GAA Club to the 2019 Convention of Clare GAA. Expanding on the reasons for its inclusion, Brian Torpey stated, “I feel that we all need a bit of a shake-up every often”. Kilmaley’s Niall Romer seconded the request.

Opposition to the motion was voiced by Ambrose Heagney of Corofin. “This is my second year as the delegate for my club. I have found it to be a learning experience and I would like to stay on for five or six years”. Cratloe’s Jack Chaplin backed his comments with approximately ninety percent of delegates voting in favour of Heagney’s counter-proposal.

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top