Latest News County Clare

Martin Conway prevails once again in Seanad Election

in Home/News by

Martin Conway (FG) has successfully retained his title as Clare’s only Senator.

Conway prevailed in a very competitive Administrative Panel of the Seanad elections holding off challengers such as outgoing Senators Lorraine Clifford-Lee (FF), John Dolan (IND) and ex TD Noel Rock (FG) to collect one of the seven seats on offer.

First elected to the Seanad in 2011, the Ennistymon man saw his first preference vote increase by four. He took the fifth seat on the fifteenth count then and once again had to wait until the fifteenth count, this time taking the fourth seat.

Transfers from Cllr Emer Currie (FG) helped Conway be returned to the Upper House of the Oireacthas.

In February, he was left disappointed following his first General Election campaign. Martin received 2,285 first preference votes as the party only returned one of its two sitting TDs with the election prompting the retirement of Pat Breen.

A county councillor for seven years, Conway served as Fine Gael’s Justice Spokesperson in the Seanad during the last term. He was nominated by the National Council for the Blind Ireland to contest the election.

There was no such joy for Ann Marie Flanagan (IND). The disability activist was eliminated on the fifth count.

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top