Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Clare captain, Sean McMahon. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

A blistering start by Limerick who scored 2-2 in the opening eleven minutes helped them to victory over Clare in this Munster minor football round 2 game played on Thursday evening.

Limerick 2-08
Clare 0-09
Venue: Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale

The result means that Clare must beat Tipperary in round 3 in Shannon next Thursday to have a chance of progressing in the championship.

Limerick hit the front after just fifteen seconds with corner forward Luke Walsh landing a point and they opened up the Clare defence in the third minute for Bobby Smith to shoot to the net.

Centre forward Tommy Ryan finished off a great move in the eleventh mnute for the winner’s second goal.

Seven points separated the sides at half time when the score was 2-5 to 0-4 and Clare had enjoyed the assistance of a strong wind in the opening period. Clare had to wait until a minute from the half time whistle for their first score from play which came from Darren Keane.

The Banner outfit had the better of the second half exchanges but they had difficulty in breaking down a strong Limerick defence. Three points in succession saw them cut the home side’s lead to four points, 0-8 to 2-6 with ten minutes to play but that was as close as they got.

Team captain Sean McMahon, Jake Garry who switched to midfield for the second half, Daire Hill, Darren Keane and Paddy Nagle worked hard throughout for the home side.

Scorers; Limerick: Bobby Smith (1-1) Stephen Young (0-3)Tommy Ryan (1-0)Luke Walsh, Aidan O’Shea, Diarmuid Hynes Evan Curry (0-1) each

Scorers Clare: Cathal Talty (frees), Sean McMahon (frees), Darren Keane (0-2) each Colin Riordan, Gavin O’Shea (0-1) each.

1: Cian Howard (Éire Óg)

2: Michael Kelly (Lissycasey)
3: Daire Hill (Lissycasey)
4: Ronan Kilroy (Banner)

5: Sean McMahon (Banner) Captain,
6: Paddy Nagle (St. Josephs, Doora/Barefield) ),
7: Jake Garry (Cooraclare);

8: Evan Cahill (Kilmurry-Ibrickane),
9: Tadhg Lysaght (Kilrush Shamrocks)

10: Colm Meaney (Clondegad),
11: Darren Keane(Lissycasey),
12: Mark Kelleher (Ennistymon);

13: Dara Killeen (Lissycasey)
14: Conor Fennell (Kilrush),
15: Cathal Talty (Kilmurry-Ibrickane);

Gavin O’Shea((Doonbeeg) for Kelleher (inj. 16)
Jack Kelleher (Killimer) for Meaney (34);
Colin Riordan (Wolfe Tones) for Lysaght (44)
Jamie Moylan (Cratloe) for J Kelleher (51)

1: Jake Foley (Mungret St Pauls);

2: Ethan Browne (Kildimo-Pallaskenry),
3: Cathal Mangan (Croom),
4: Shane O’Sullivan (Kildmo-Pallaskenry);

5: Calum Boyle (Fr Caseys),
6: Cian Harnett (Fr Caseys),
7: Paddy Downey (Oola);

8: Aidan O’Shea (Cappagh);
9: Michael Keating (Adare);

10: Diarmuid Hynes (Mungret St Pauls),
11: Tommy Ryan (Dromcologher-Broadford),
12: Bobby Smith (Ballybrown);

13: Luke Walsh (Mungret St Pauls),
14: Stephen Young (Cappagh),
15: Michael Kilbridge (Fr Caseys).

Evan Curry (Athea for Walsh(43)
Bailey Ryan (Galbally) for T. Ryan (56)

Referee: Seamus Mulvihill (Kerry)

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks