Photo by Katie McNeill
Jims roofing 2008

No account yet? Register

GAELSCOIL Mhicil Ciosog made history when they became the first ever Clare primary school to win a team event at the Irish Minor Schools Championship last Sunday in the National Aquatic Centre in Dublin.

The senior team of Ella Holly, Ava Rochford, Niamh Hogan and Kate O’Connor produced a huge 8 second PB when storming to the 200 metre medley relay. They then backed this up with an excellent bronze in the 200 metre freestyle relay later in the day.

The Gaelscoil were not the only medal winning team from Clare on the day though.

The National School from Ennis were not to be outdone when their boys team of Leo Liu, Ronan Kilroy, Bruno Sanchez-Soto and Stephen Wang brought home the silver and bronze medals from their two events on the day. It capped off what was a record breaking weekend for Clare schools who were competing against Ireland’s swimming elite at primary school level.

In the individual events Ava Rochford from Gaelscoil Mhicil Ciosog won silver in the U12 50 metre freestyle in an excellent time of 29.28 seconds. And Leo Liu brought home bronze in the U11 50 metre backstroke in a time of 37.50 seconds.

Photo by Katie McNeill
Kate O’Connor, Niamh Hogan, Ella Holly, Ava Rochford from Gaelscoil Mhichil Ciosog in Ennis with their medals. Photo by Katie McNeill

Gold Medals: Girls 11-12 200 metre medley relay (Ella Holly, Ava Rochford, Niamh Hogan, Kate O’Connor) – 2.34.72 mins.

Silver Medals: Boys 11-12 200 metre medley relay (Leo Liu, Ronan Kilroy, Stephen Wang, Bruno Sanchez-Soto) – 2.36.94 mins. Ava Rochford – U12 50 Metre Freestyle – 29.28 seconds.

Bronze Medals: Boys 11-12 200 metre freestyle relay (Team same as above) – 2.16.47 minutes
Girls 11-12 200 metre freestyle relay (Team same as above) – 2.18.82 minutesLeo Liu – U11 50 Metre Backstroke – 47.50 seconds.

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks