*Paul Flanagan is nominated for the first time. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill
EIGHT CLARE HURLERS have been nominated for PwC All Stars.

Following a positive season for Brian Lohan’s charges which included reaching the Munster final and All-Ireland semi-final, the form of several of his players has been recognised.

Tony Kelly is chasing his fourth All Star award with John Conlon and David McInerney in the running for a second All Star accolade.

Nominated for the first time since 2018, Shane O’Donnell could yet pick up his first All Star.

The quartet of Paul Flanagan, David Fitzgerald, Ryan Taylor and Diarmuid Ryan are all nominated for the first time.

Three in a row champions Limerick are the commanding force in today’s announcement with 12 places in the coveted shortlist of 45 names.

Winners of a record 12 PwC All-Stars last year, the Treaty County continue to have the highest representation on the back of their continuing all-conquering form with 10 counties in all featured.

Kilkenny’s 2021 All-Star goalkeeper Eoin Murphy will be up against Limerick number one Nickie Quaid and Galway’s Éanna Murphy for the award.

A winner of four PwC All-Stars in a row, Limerick’s Seán Finn is again nominated among the best 18 defenders of 2022 and is joined by colleagues Barry Nash, Mike Casey, Diarmaid Byrnes and Declan Hannon.

Four of Kilkenny’s eight nominees in total are in defence with Clare also receiving four nominations at the back, with Galway having three and Cork’s Ciarán Joyce and Wexford’s Damien Reck also acknowledged for their great form.

Clare’s run to an epic Munster final and to the All-Ireland semi-finals is reflected in a haul of eight nominees in total and with David Fitzgerald and Ryan Taylor being named in the six-man shortlist for centre field, completed by Limerick’s William O’Donoghue, Kilkenny’s Adrian Mullen, Galway’s Tom Monaghan and Darragh Fitzgibbon of Cork.

After another high scoring summer, Limerick’s impressive attack is dominant in the 18 names listed. Galway have strong contenders in Conor Whelan, Cathal Mannion and Joseph Cooney. Following hauls of 59 points and 58 points which left them fourth and fifth place respectively in the overall Championship scoring charts, Dublin’s Dónal Burke and Westmeath’s Killian Doyle deservedly feature with Tony Kelly and Shane O’Donnell, Lee Chin, Dessie Hutchinson, Noel McGrath and Robbie O’Flynn also having their strong form recognised.

The overall PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year and Young Hurler of the Year titles are voted on exclusively by the inter-county players themselves. Kilkenny’s ever-green genius TJ Reid is in the three-man shortlist with Limerick’s defensive inspirations Barry Nash and Diarmaid Byrnes for company.

Current holder Eoin Cody is again eligible for the Young Hurler award and is named along with teammate Mikey Butler and Cork’s Ciarán Joyce.

PwC All-Stars Hurling Nominations 2022

Éanna Murphy (Galway)
Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)
Nickie Quaid (Limerick)
Seán Finn (Limerick)
Barry Nash (Limerick)
Mike Casey (Limerick)
Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)
Declan Hannon (Limerick)
Mikey Butler (Kilkenny)
Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny)
Richie Reid (Kilkenny)
Paddy Deegan (Kilkenny)
Paul Flanagan (Clare)
John Conlon (Clare)
Diarmuid Ryan (Clare)
David McInerney (Clare)
Daithí Burke (Galway)
Fintan Burke (Galway)
Pádraic Mannion (Galway)
Ciarán Joyce (Cork)
Damien Reck (Wexford)

David Fitzgerald Clare)
Ryan Taylor (Clare)
Tom Monaghan (Galway)
Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)
William O’Donoghue (Limerick)
Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny)
Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick)
Kyle Hayes (Limerick)
Tom Morrissey (Limerick)
Aaron Gillane (Limerick)
Séamus Flanagan (Limerick)
TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)
Conor Whelan (Galway)
Cathal Mannion (Galway)
Joseph Cooney (Galway)
Tony Kelly (Clare)
Shane O’Donnell (Clare)
Robbie O’Flynn (Cork)
Dessie Hutchinson (Waterford)
Noel McGrath (Tipperary)
Lee Chin (Wexford)
Dónal Burke (Dublin)
Killian Doyle (Westmeath)

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Nominees
TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)
Barry Nash (Limerick)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year Nominees
Ciarán Joyce (Cork)
Mikey Butler (Kilkenny)
Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks