Latest News County Clare

East Clare Golf Club to host Olive Fahy Memorial

in Home/Sport by

The annual Olive Fahy memorial cup will take place at East Clare Golf Club on Thursday, September 17.

East Clare Golf Club:
The late Olive was a well known and respected member of East Clare Golf Club and is remembered with fondness by all those who knew her. The challenge will consist of an open 18 hole stableford for both men and ladies and tee times can be booked by telephoning 061-921322.

In round 3 of the men’s 18 hole stroke player of the year competition, Eoin Magill (2) was the winner of the white tees with 70 from Ray McInerney (18) with 73. Ben Rittweger (4) won the gross with 78. In the competition off the yellow tees, Shane McGrath (8) was the winner with 39 points from Donal O’Grady (19) with 38 and Colm Kelly (26) with 37

Mary Brennan (24) won the ladies 18 hole stableford competition with 32 points while last week’s open day competition was won by Tery Coughlan (17) with 37 points. Open competitions take place each Thursday.

Lahinch Golf Club:

Last week Lahinch ladies club hosted a very successful ‘Play in Pink Day’ in aid of Breast Cancer Research (BCR). Despite necessary restrictions in place due to the implementation of Covid-19 guidelines, €6,000 was raised over the two days.

The winners were Valerie Hassett, Ber Murphy, Mary Powell and Deirdre Cahalan with 84 points and they won with a better back nine from Mary O’Meara, Olivia Lucas, Kate O’Meara and Evelyn Lyons.

In third spot with 83 points were Mary Malone, Susan Coakley, Marjorie Ahern and Fiona McCarthy followed by Jane Ryder, Mary Fehily, Audrey Fitzgerald and Lyn MacGoey, also with 83 points.

Fifth spot was filled by Maria Nolan, Emer Digan, Ita Slattery and Grace Delahunt also with 93 points while Yvonne Keohane, Maeve Hoey, Bridget Hoey and Suzanne Dean were next with 82 points

The intermediate scratch cup was played for on the Castle course and was won by Wemer Kunz (12) with 74 gross from Gabriel Considine (15) with 77 and John Wood (12), also with 77. Ciaran Vaughan (18) won the nett with 62

In a men’s singles stroke play competition, Dermot Morris (4) was the winner with 62 nett from Bobby Fleming (10) with 64.

In the Holmpatrick cup, a fourball qualifier, the winners were Colm McInerney (10) and Dara O’Loghlin (11) with 47 points on the old course.

The ladies golf medal trophy was played for on the championship course where Fiona McCarthy (16) emerged with the title with 39 points to win by three from Rachel Maher (19). Rhona Carmody (11) was third with 34 points followed by Evelyn Lyons (19) with 32 and Claire Duggan (29) with 32. Aine Donegan (+3) won the gross with 34 points.

In the silver division, Elizabeth Blake (20) won with 32 points from Aideen Walsh (scratch) with 32 while the bronze division was won by Aine O’Brien (30) with 30 points from Ann O’Friel (24) with a similar score

Ennis Golf Club:

Last week’s Tuesday fourball at Ennis was won by Flan Downes and Barry Lee with 38 points. They had one to spare over Senan Ryan and Davy Considine with third place filled by Pat Murphy and Ronnie Guinnane on 35 points.

Raymond Power and Tommy Stack were fourth with 35 points. Kieran Browne had a hole in one at the second hole.

In the Friday open singles, Darragh Healy (30) was the winner with 44 points from Barry Neylon (19) with 42 points. Oisin Kennedy (16) from
Woodstock was third with 41 points followed by Conor Malone (11) with 49 points and Darragh T. Murphy (7) with 39 points. Andrew Whelan (5) won the gross with 71.

The Cahercalla cup, sponsored by Gerard and Declan Daly, was played for at the weekend when the winner was Gerry O’Connor (22) with 41 points from Cyril Corry (11) with 40 points and Eddie Glenny (18) with 39 points. Matthew Whelan (5) won the gross with 33 points. The category winners were Cillian O’Connor (9) with 38 points, Conor Doyle (13) with 38 points and Cormac O’Neill (19) with 37 points.

Dromoland Golf Club:

In the mid week 9 hole competition at Dromoland, Brian Maloney was the winner with 21 points from Robert Healy with 20 and Ronan Mullane with 20

Friday’s open singles was won by Gordan O’Neill with 40 points from Donal McGrath with 38 and Conor Ryan with 38. Kyle Neylon won the gross with 34

In last week’s men’s seniors competition Michael Finn won category A from Willie Fuller with Don Barrett in third spot. In category B, Jimmy Neville was the winner with Michael Leydon with Barry Walsh in third spot

In the Blue tees challenge stroke play members competition, Jason O’Leary won with 68 from Declan Devitt on 69 and Eamonn O’Donnell on 72. The white tees stableford member’s competition was won by Gearoid Cox from Colm Shiels and Niall Melody, all three scoring 40 points
Kilrush Golf Club:

The captain’s (Kevin Clancy) prize was played for at Kilrush at the weekend when Oisin Morrissey (22) was the winner with 130 from Michael O’Reilly (16) with 134. They were followed by Rory Lillis (11) with 137, Brendan Carey (19) with 137 and Michael Miniter (16) with 139.

Tom Clancy (6) won the gross with 75 while the category winners were George Nolan (14) with 139, Tony McMahon (16) with 142 and Sean Moran (22) with 142. John Ryan (16) with 39 won the front 9 while the back 9 winner was Alan Hogan (27) with 34.5. The leading qualifier was Gerard Kelly (14) with 141.

In the distance members section the winner was Nigel Ryan (18) with 135 from Eoin Quinn (15) with 139 and Gearoid Kelly (9) with 139. Declan O’Donovan (8) won the committee prize with 144, Michael J. Hogan (18) won the past captain’s prize with 143. Robert Kirwan was nearest the pin while Michael Shannon won the long drive.

In the ladies section the Keating Construction competition was won by Marion Brennan (22) with 34 points from Fiona Kinsella (12) with 32 points, Ann Marie Donnellan (17) with 32 points and Margaret Donnelly (19) with 30 points.. Martina Walsh (21) won category 1 with 30 points while Mary McCarthy (28) won category 2, also with 30 points.

Spanish Point Golf Club:

The 2020 ladies grand season finale at Spanish Point took place last week when Clair Cullinan emerged as the winner of the 18 hole singles stableford competition with 38 points.

She had one to spare over Valerie Shannon who was one ahead of Mary Burne. Geraldine Reddan was fourth with 33 points followed by Fiona O’Boyle, also with 22 points.

In the men’s 18 hole stableford competition, Alan Burke won with 40 points from Brian O’Loughlin with 39 and Jack Clarke with 39. The men’s 9 hole Friday singles was won by Martin Shanahan with 18 points from Laurence Murray with 18 and Patrick Darcy with 14 points. The senior men’s open singles was won by Michael O’Connor with 39 points from Harry Crowe with 37 and Michael A. Hennessy with 36.

Gort Golf Club:

Justin McGrath (14) won Monday’s open singles at Gort with 44 points from Eoin O’Dea(21) with 42 and Michael Hennelly (22) with 39. Jack Tuohy (1) won the gross with 34 points. In the weekend open singles Glen Cahill (14) was the winner with 44 points from Enda Connolly(8) with 40, and Liam Byrne (18) with 39. Eanna Melville (4) won the gross with 32. Last week’s ladies singles 18n hole stableford competition was Anne Kerins win category 1 with 37 points while Charlotte Kelly won category 2 with 36 points.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top