No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor have opted against change, naming the same side from the defeated Munster Final for Saturday’s All-Ireland SHC quarter-final. 

However there is one noticeable change to the panel with former captain, Cian Dillon included in the matchday twenty six. There have been calls for the Crusheen to be reinstated to the Banner defence in the wake of their second successive provincial final defeat. Jason McCarthy is not included in the panel as a result.

Captain Patrick O’Connor was reported as an injury doubt earlier in the week but he continues in the full back line alongside David McInerney and Jack Browne with Donal Tuohy behind them.

Like Dillon, there has been calls for David Fitzgerald to be introduced to the half-back line but there is no room for him in the named team as Seadna Morey, Conor Cleary and Jamie Shanahan all continue in their spots. Cathal Malone and Colm Galvin partner each other in midfield.

Up front, the on fire John Conlon remains on the edge of the square with Podge Collins and Shane O’Donnell beside him for company. Former hurler of the year Tony Kelly wears eleven and is accompanied by freetaker Peter Duggan and David Reidy.

STARTING 15 V Wexford (as per match programme):
1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)

2. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber) – CAPTAIN
3. David McInerney (Tulla)
4. Jack Browne (Ballyea)

5. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
6. Conor Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
7. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)

8. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
9. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)

10. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
11. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)
12. David Reidy (Éire Óg Inis)

13. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
14. John Conlon (Clonlara)
15. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg Inis)

16. Andrew Fahy (Whitegate)
17. Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
18. Cian Dillon (Crusheen)
19. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)
20. Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley)
21. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin)
22. Niall Deasy (Ballyea)
23. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
24. Michael O’Neill (Kilmaley)
25. Conor McGrath (Cratloe)
26. Daragh Corry (Tulla)

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

*Photograph: Martin Connolly

Related News

Scroll to Top