*Clare captain Laurie Ryan. Photograph: David Dillon

Clare’s intermediate ladies football have got their season back on track with a ten point win over Laois securing their place in the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

Clare 4-13
Laois 1-12
Venue: O’Moore Park, Portlaoise

One week on from their three point opening round defeat to Wexford, Clare bounced back with a superb response overcoming Laois away from home and in the process progress from the group stages and reach the last eight for the third year in succession.

James Murrihy’s charges hit the ground running scoring 2-04 without reply in the first fifteen minutes, captain Laurie Ryan and Niamh O’Dea raised the green flags.

On seventeen minutes, Laois raided for their only goal of the game, only for Clare to work the ball up the field from a Ciara Harvey kick out, the move ending with Grainne Nolan slotting the ball to the back of the net. An O’Dea double plus one from Caitríona Callinan saw the visitors lead 3-07 1-03 at half-time.

A brace of six points on the bounce from Laois saw them slash the distance to six points only for Cooraclare’s Roisin Looney to pounce for goal on forty seven minutes and dent their momentum. O’Dea added three more points with the hosts converting two efforts before Stephen McNulty blew the final whistle.

Returning to the knockout stages has always been the aim for the Clare intermediates, that box has been ticked and in order to advance to the semi-finals for the first time since 2016, they need to cut down on the concession of scores when they do switch off. In this outing the damage was six points, against tougher opposition, the consequence will be goals which are more difficult to cancel out. In the space of a week, they showed improvement and now must work to build again for the quarter-finals.

Scorers Clare: N O’Dea (1-08 1f), G Nolan (1-02), L Ryan (1-00), R Looney (1-00), E O’Connor (0-01), C Callinan (0-01), F Marrinan (0-01)

1: Ciara Harvey (West Clare Gaels)
2: Áine Keane (St Josephs Miltown)
3: Ellie O’Gorman (Kilmihil)
4: Gráinne Harvey (West Clare Gaels)
18: Caitríona Callinan (Kilmihil)
6: Laurie Ryan (Banner)
7: Siofra Ni Chonnaill (St Josephs Doora/Barefield)
17: Roisin Looney (Cooraclare)
9: Eimear O’Connor (Cúil Gaels)
10: Róisín Considine (Liscannor)
11: Ailish Considine (Kilmihil)
12: Caoimhe Harvey (West Clare Gaels)
13: Gráinne Nolan (Banner)
14: Niamh O’Dea (Banner)
15: Fidelma Marrinan (West Clare Gaels)

21: Sarah Bohannon (Cúil Gaels) for Callinan (HT)
8: Orla Devitt (Éire Óg) for Ní Chonaill (39)
22: Aisling Morrissey (Cooraclare) for Keane (46)
20: Tara Kelly (Cúil Gaels) for O’Connor (56)
19: Eimear Keane (St Josephs Miltown) for Marrinan (57)

Referee: Stephen McNulty (Wicklow)


Related News

river fergus ennis
Plans to be lodged for apartment and retail projects in Ennis town centre
shannon refugees public meeting 28-01-23 dominic haugh 2
'Residents Group must represent entire population of Shannon on asylum seekers'
shannon refugees public meeting 28-01-23 elaine dickson 2
'I won't be bandied a racist' - Chair of Shannon Residents Group says town hasn't services for more refugees
ul hospital ennis
Ennis Hospital staff warn of delayed cancer diagnoses after five weeks of surgery cancellations

Subscribe for just €3 per month

If you’re here, you care about County Clare. So do we. Did you rely on us for Covid-19 updates, follow our election coverage, or visit The Clare Echo every week for breaking news and sport? The Clare Echo invests in local journalism and we want to safeguard its future in our county. By becoming a subscriber you are supporting what we do, will receive access to all our premium articles and a better experience, while helping us improve our offering to you. Subscribe to clareecho.ie and get the first six months for just €3 a month (less than 75c per week), and thereafter €8 per month. Cancel anytime, limited time offer. T&Cs Apply. www.clareecho.ie.

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks