Latest News County Clare

Clare & Kerry name teams for Munster semi-final

in Home/Sport by

Colm Collins and Éamonn Fitzmaurice have announced their starting fifteens for Sunday’s Munster SFC semi-final in Killarney.

Collins has gone for an unchanged side from that which defeated Limerick by twelve points in their championship opener two weeks ago. Meelick’s Kevin Hartnett was reported to be back training having missed the entire league but he hasn’t been deemed fit enough to be included at full-back.

Kevin Hartnett won’t be going toe to toe with Paul Geaney from the start on Sunday. Photo: Martin Connolly

Eamonn Tubridy makes his second championship appearance between the posts so too is the man in front of him wearing number three, Cillian Brennan. The reliable partnership of Cathal O’Connor and Gary Brennan are set for a midfield battle while a strong attack has been selected by the Clare management. County champions, Kilmurry Ibrickane have one representative in the starting fifteen, full-forward Keelan Sexton.

Seven players will make their championship debut for Kerry. They include, nineteen year old David Clifford, centre forward Sean O’Shea and Dr Crokes’ Micheál Burns. Kieran Donaghy, Darran O’Sullivan, Fionn Fitzgerald, Barry John Keane and Anthony Maher are just some of the big names in the matchday panel.

1. Eamon Tubridy (Doonbeg)
2. Gordon Kelly (St Josephs Miltown)
3. Killian Brennan (Clondegad)
4. Eoghan Collins (Ballyhaunis)
5. Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare)
6. Aaron Fitzgerald (Éire Óg)
7. Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)
8. Gary Brennan (Clondegad)
9. Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)
10. Kieran Malone (St Josephs Miltown)
11. Eoin Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
12. Jamie Malone (Corofin)
13. Eibhin Courtney (Éire Óg)
14. Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
15. David Tubridy (Doonbeg)

1 Shane Murphy (Captain) (Dr. Crokes)
2 Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
3 Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
4 Ronan Shanahan (Austin Stacks)
5 Paul Murphy (Rathmore)
6 Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)
7 Gavin White (Dr Crokes)
8 David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)
9 Jack Barry (Na Gaeil)
10 Micheál Burns (Dr. Crokes)
11 Seán O’Shea (Kenmare)
12 Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)
13 David Clifford (Fossa)
14 Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15 James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion)
Fir Ionaid:
16 Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)
17 Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
18 Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
19 Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)
20 Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar)
21 Anthony Maher (Duagh)
22 Mark Griffin (St Michaels/ Foilmore)
23 Mikey Geaney (Dingle)
24 Kevin McCarthy (Kilcummin)
25 Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
26 Gavin Crowley (Templenoe)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top