Latest News County Clare

Waterford end Clare’s chances of making knockout stages

in Home/Sport by

*FILE PIC: Doireann Murphy attempts to hook Fiona Morrissey. Photograph: Caroline O’Keeffe

Waterford have completed back to back wins over Clare in the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland senior camogie championship for the first time in their history.

Waterford 2-10
Clare 0-12
Venue: Walsh Park

Ger O’Connell and his management have failed to emulate their predecessor Patricia O’Grady and her group as Clare cannot qualify to the knockout stages of the 2019 championship with Waterford advancing from the group for the second time in two years.

A promising start which included two Chloe Morey points in the first five minutes would prove to be false hope as Clare added just four points for the remainder of the half with Waterford hitting 1-06 in this period, the goal coming from Beth Carton.

Straight on the restart, Sarah Lacey missed a one on one shot versus Sarah Loughnane with the Sixmilebridge netminder’s puckout resulting in a score at the other end via Orlaith Duggan. Lacey made no mistake six minutes later collecting the sliotar off Carton and firing past Loughnane for their second goal.

To their credit, the visitors didn’t roll over after the concession of this goal finishing out the tie with five of the final six scores reducing the deficit to four points as Liz Dempsey blew the final whistle to secure Waterford’s third championship win over Clare in four years.

Though the Banner are unable to progress to the knockout stages, they have a final game against Dublin where a win is very achievable.

Scorers – Clare: Chloe Morey 0-6, Mairead Scanlon 0-2, Orlaith Duggan 0-1, Sinead Conlon 0-1, Clare Hehir 0-1, Andrea O’Keeffe 0-1.

Scorers – Waterford: Beth Carton 1-6, Sarah Lacey 1-2, Annie Fitzgerald 0-1, Ashling Power 0-1.

1: Sarah Loughnane (Sixmilebridge)
2: Ciara Grogan (Clooney/Quin)
3: Clare Hehir (Inagh/Kilnamona)
4: Ciara Doyle (Scariff/Ogonnelloe)
5: Laura McMahon (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
6: Alannah Ryan (Kilkishen)
7: Teresa O’Keeffe (Inagh/Kilnamona)
17: Michelle Caulfield (Truagh/Clonlara)
10: Orlaith Duggan (Clooney/Quin)
12: Sinead Conlon (Tulla)
14: Eimear Kelly (Truagh/Clonlara)
13: Fiona Lafferty (Inagh/Kilnamona)
9: Roisin Begley (Truagh/Clonlara)
18: Chloe Morey (Sixmilebridge)
11: Andrea O’Keeffe (Inagh/Kilnamona)

1: Brianna O’Regan (De La Salle)
2: Sibheal Harney (St Annes)
3: Iona Heffernan (Ferrybank)
4: Kate Lynch (Gaultier)
5: Caoimhe McGrath (An Rinn)
6: Aine Lyng (Gaultier)
7: Lorraine Bray (Cappoquin)
8: Trish Jackman (Gaultier)
9: Emma Hannon (Gaultier)
10: Orla Hickey (Dungarvan)
11: Niamh Rockett (St Annes)
12: Sarah Lacey (Dungarvan)
13: Annie Fitzgerald (De La Salle)
14: Beth Carton (De La Salle)
15: Shona Curran (Lismore)

Referee: Liz Dempsey (Kilkenny)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top