Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Seadna Morey. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

Twenty teams divided into two groups of ten set out back in March in search of the Clare Cup, senior hurling league, title and just four remain in the race for the title.

Crusheen and Sixmilebridge progressed to the last four when they accounted for O’Callaghans Mills and Newmarket-on-Fergus respectively in Sunday’s quarter finals.

Crusheen will face Clonlara while Kilmaley take on Sixmilebridge in this week’s semi-finals.

Meanwhile the way is clear for the Division 2 league final where Tubber will play Parteen this week. Parteen secured their place in the final when they accounted for Ogonnelloe on Sunday evening.

There was some compensation for O’Callaghans Mills after they bowed out of the Clare Cup at the quarter final stage when they accounted for Clonlara in the Division 3 league semi-final on Sunday evening. In the final they will play either Bodyke or Broadford.

Ballyea and Scariff will do battle for the division 4 title after their accounted for Ennistymon and St. Josephs Doora/Barefield respectively in the weekend’s semi-finals

Tuohy the hero as Crusheen advance

Crusheen 3-18
O’Callaghans Mills 2-21
(after extra time)
Crusheen won on penalties
Venue: Gurteen

Donal Tuohy has helped Crusheen to many great wins in the past decade and he again played a key role in their latest win when they qualified for the semi-final of the Clare Cup with victory over O’Callaghans Mills on Sunday.

Donal Tuohy. Photograph: Chris Copley

A penalty shoot out was required to separate the sides in this won and this went to sudden death where Tuohy saved from Gary Cooney before dispatching his effort to the O’Callaghans Mills net to seal a place in the semi-final.

O’Callaghans Mills had the better of the first half and led by six points, 2-10 to 1-7, at the break, their goals coming from Colin Crehan and Conor Henry.

Crusheen stepped up a gear in the second half and when the final whistle sounded they had drawn level, 3-13 to 2-16, their goals having come from Luke Ketelaar, Diarmuid Mullins and Jamie Fitzgibbon.

At half time in extra time the Mills had edged two points clear (2-19 to 3-14) but, again, Crusheen refused to give in and they outscored their opponents in the second period to level matters yets again.

After the regulation five penalties each the sides were still locked together having converted two each.

Tuohy then saved from Gary Cooney before stepping up and drilling his effort to the net to send his side through to a meeting with Clonlara in the semi-final.

Crusheen: Donal Tuohy; Mark Perrill, Cian Dillon, Sean Mhaoir; Tadhg Deane, Éanna McMahon, Diarmuid Mullins; Cillein Mullins, Oisin O’Donnell; :Luke Ketelaar, Jamie Fitxgibbon, Murrough McMahon; Conor O’Donnell, Gerry O’Grady, Fergus Kennedy;

Subs: Cathal Dillon for Ketelaar; Ketelaar for Mhaoir; Paddy Vaughan for O’Grady;

O’Callaghans Mills; Killian Nugent; Niall Donovan, Conor Cooney, Gerry Cooney; Michael Cotter, Kevin O’Callaghan, Aidan Fawl; Sean O’Gorman, Aidan O’Gorman; Jacob Loughnane, Bryan Donnellan, Cathal Lenihan; Conor Murphy, Colin Crehan, Conor Henry

Subs: Gary Cooney for Lenihan; Pat Donnellan for A. O’Gorman; Fionn Hickey for Cotter; Aidan O’Gorman for Loughnane (inj); Rory Kelly for C. Cooney (inj);

Referee: Rory McGann (Newmarket-on-Fergus)

Strong second half sees Sixmilebridge advance

Sixmilebridge 1-15
Newmarket-on-Fergus 0-13
Venue: Shannon

In a dress rehearsal for the first round of the senior championship, Sixmilebridge put in a strong final quarter to claim victory over their neighbours Newmarket-on-Fergus in this Division 1 league quarter final played at Shannon on Sunday evening.

The game’s only goal midway through the second half proved to be the decisive score in a tie which saw both teams short a number of first choice players.

Newmarket held a three point advantage at the interval when the score was 0-9 to 0-6 and they were still three ahead early in the third quarter after each side had added three to their half time totals.

By the mid point of the half the Bridge had drawn level with the score at 0-12 each. A great run by Seadna Morey ended when he drilled to the net from a tight angle and the Bridge followed with points from Caimin Morey and Luke O’Halloran to open a five point gap which was the margin at the final whistle.

Newmarket battled to the end but a point from Clare All-Ireland medal winner Colin Ryan was their only reward in the closing stages.

Sixmilebridge: Derek Fahy; Leon Kelly, Barry Fitzpatrick, Jordan Downes; Noel Purcell, Caimin Morey, Pa Mulready; Seadna Morey, Brian Carey; Cathal Lynch, Conor Deasy, Lorcan Fitzpatrick; Brian Corry, Luke O’Halloran, Ronan Tuohy;

Subs: Aidan Quilligan for J. Downes; Cathaoir Agnew for Fitzpatrick; David Kennedy for Corry

Newmarket-on-Fergus: Padraic Guiilfoyle; Darragh Burke, Jack Enright, Paudie McMahon; Stephen Casey, Enda Barrett, Niall O’Connor; James McMahon, Sean O’Connor; Shane Lynch, Colin Ryan, Jack O’Connor; Peter Power, Mikey McInerney, David Frost;

Subs: Frank Melody for J. McMahon; Mark Delaney for Frost; Shane O’Brien for Casey; Cian Foley for S. Lynch;

Referee: Joe Mullins (Clonlara)

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks