Tubridy’s goal gives Clare a share of the spoils

in Home/Sport by

*David Tubridy. Photograph: Martin Connolly

A late David Tubridy goal from long range earned Clare a draw with Armagh in the second round of the Allianz National Football League.

Clare 2-10
Armagh 1-13
Venue: Pairc Esler, Newry

Clare picked up their first point of the 2019 Division 2 campaign when Doonbeg’s David Tubridy scored an additional time goal from the sideline to secure a valuable draw with Armagh.

Kieran McGeeney’s charges finished the game with thirteen men, Jamie Clarke was dismissed in the first half while referee Cormac Reilly gave Aaron McKay his marching orders for a second bookable offence in the closing moments. The extra men would prove helpful for Clare in snatching the draw.

It was a nightmare start for the Banner as Dermot Coughlan picked up a serious leg injury seconds after the ball was thrown in, the Kilmurry Ibrickane youngster was stretchered off the field after a delay.

Cian O’Dea operated in a sweeper role for Colm Collins’ side, his movement created many chances for Clare but the final finish was not up to standard on occasions which prohibited Clare from building up any sort of a lead.

A strong finish to the opening half saw Clare notch 1-03 in succession, the goal deflecting off an Armagh defender to elude netminder Blaine Hughes. This left Armagh with a 1-08 1-06 advantage at the break.

Clare did go in front in the second half but then allowed Armagh fire three points on the trot. The 2002 All-Ireland champions increased their lead to four points but then up stepped Tubridy with 1-01 in the closing minutes to settle the tie and secure their first point of the campaign while for Armagh it is two draws in as many weekends. Cork travel to Cusack Park next Sunday while Armagh are on the road to Meath.

Scorers for Clare: David Tubridy 1-7 (0-2f, 1-1sl 0-1m), OG 1-0, Dale Masterson, Kieran Malone and Gordon Kelly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Armagh: Greg McCabe 1-1, Niall Grimley 0-3 (0-2f) Rian O’Neill 0-3 (0-1m) Jemar Hall 0-2, Connaire Mackin Rory Grugan (1f), Joe McElroy and Charlie Vernon 0-1 each.

1. Pierse DeLoughrey (Cratloe)
2. Kevin Harnett (Meelick)

3. Cillian Brennan (Clondegad)

4. Gordon Kelly (St Joseph’s Miltown)
10. Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)
22. Dale Masterson (St Brekans)

5. Dean Ryan (Eire Óg)

25. Conal O hAinifein (Eire Óg)
8. Gary Brennan (Clondegad)

9. Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)
12. Dermot Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane)

14. Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane)

11. Jamie Malone (Corofin)
13. Kieran Malone (St Joseph’s Miltown)

15. David Tubridy (Doonbeg).
19. Gavin Cooney (Eire Óg) for Coughlan (12)

7. Eoghan Collins (Ballyhaunis) for Masterson (47)

17. Darragh Bohannan (Shannon Gaels) for K Malone (59)

14. Gearóid O’Brien (Kilrush Shamrocks) for J Malone (66)

23. Cormac Murray (St Joseph’s Miltown) for Sexton (69).

1. Blaine Hughes (Carrickcruppen)
2. Aaron McKay (Dromintee)

3. James Morgan (Crossmaglen Rangers)

4. Mark Shields (Whitecross)
7. Aidan Forker (Maghery)

5. Connaire Mackin (Shane O’Neills)

6. Greg McCabe (Shane O’Neills)
8. Stephen Sheridan (Forkhill)

9. Niall Grimley (Madden)
18. Charlie Vernon (Armagh Harps)

11. Rory Grugan (Ballymacnab)

10. Jemar Hall (Forkhill)
14. Rian O’Neill (Crossmaglen Rangers)
15. Jamie Clarke (Crossmaglen Rangers)

13. Stefan Campbell (Clan na Gael).
17. Joe McElroy (Armagh Harps) for Campbell (52)

12. Ryan McShane (Armagh Harps) for Vernon (57)

20. Jason Duffy (Cullyhanna) for Shields (66)

21 Ross McQuillian (Cullyhanna) for Hall (69).
Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.