No account yet? Register

President Ollie McNamara’s prize was played for at Woodstock at the weekend and resulted in victory for Tony Neville (15) on a score of 42 points.

He won on a countback from Brandon O’Connell (25) who also had 42 points. In third spot with 41 points was Paul O’Shea (26) with fourth spot filled by Niall Reynolds (14), also with 41 points. Brian Gilligan (3) won the gross with 36 points

Category 1 (0-13) was won by David McLaughlin (10) with 42 points. David White (17) won category 2 (14-19), also with 42 points while Sean Howard (20) won category 3 (20 +) with 40 points.

Marianne McGough won the past president’s prize with 43 points. The leading junior was Sean Crowe with 36 points while the guest’s prize was won by Tom Coffey.

The president’s prize to the ladies was won by Marianne McGough with 43 points from Margaret Ann Killeen with 36 points. In third spot was Eleanor Miniter, also with 36 points followed by Niamh O’Regan with 35 points. Aine Burke won the front nine with 19 points while Ann Kilker won the back nine, also with 19 points.

The 9 hole competition was won by Hilary Hannon with 16 points.

The competition this weekend at Woodstock will be the Masters, a stableford competition off the white markers.

The top thirty and ties in the golfer of the year will qualify for the Masters and they will be confirmed after the two matchplay finals this week. There will be a club singles for those not competing in the Masters.

Last week’s open singles at Woodstock was won by Ray Keogh (7) from Ennis with 46 points. Another Ennis member, Colin Ryan (7) was second with 39 points with Alan Markham (6) in third spot with 37 points.

Willie Thompson (23) won the September medal with 67 nett. He had two strokes to spare over Mike O’Malley (18). John McBride (13) was third, also with 69 while David Moloney (13) finished fourth and he also returned 69 nett. Jason Considine (2) won the gross with 74.

Steve Lahiffe (18) won the September 14 open singles with 44 points from Andrew McGloin (9) with 40 points with third spot filled by Jason Dormer (6) with 39 points. Tony Cleary (scratch) won the gross with 36 points. The mid week open singles has concluded for the season

Ennis Golf Club:

Last week’s men’s Cancer Alliance 18 hole stableford competition at Ennis was won by Suzanne Deane (17) with 37 points. Patricia Moroney (19) won division 1 with 35 points. Rose Enright (24) won division 2 with 36 points while Joan Cullinane-Coote won category 3 with 34 points.

The overall winner of the 9 hole stableford competition was Patrice Ryan (18) with 20 points. Mary Nagle (13) won division 1 with 16 points, Mary Walshe (17) won division 2 with 15 points while Patricia O’Reilly (26) won division 3 with 17 points.

Holly’s Pharmacy sponsored last week’s competition for the winners of front and back 9 open days at Ennis. Maureen Moloney (36) and Eileen Holly (36) won the front 9 competition with 19 points while the back 9 winners were Mary Woulfe(26) and Patrice Ryan (32) with 21 points.

Gerry O’Connor (22) won the men’s singles competition at Ennis at the weekend with 44 points. He had two to pare over Raymond Power (22) with Jim Casey (23) a further two back in third spot. James Casey (13) was fourth and he also had 40 points. The gross was won by Martin Moran (4) with 36 points.

The category winners were Diarmuid Meere (8) with 40 points, Jason Gallagher (18) with 40 points and Jim Horgan (24) with 39 points.

Liam Pyne (7) won Friday’s open singles with 40 points from Fan Downes (15) with 38 and Tim Scanlon (22), also with 38.

Damon Murphy and Tony McInerney won the Tuesday fourball with 35 points from Steve and Enda Burns with 34, Michael Ball and Padraig McNicholas, also with 34, with fourth spot filled by Pat Murphy and Ronnie Guinnaane with 33 points.

The various 2021 matchplay competitions at the club have concluded. The Knox Cup was won by Noel Normoyle from Flan Lyons with Noel Kenny and Dave Kennelly the beaten semi finalists.

Gary Tyrell won the Koley Cup from Damon Murphy. The Cyril Walsh fourball matchplay was won by Cian Guilfoyle and Aaron Landy from Noel Normoyle and John McNamara. The beaten semi-finalists were Pat G McInerney, Gerard O’Brien , David Rushe and Brian O’Gorman.

The 2022 competitions have also been completed with Padraig McNicholas winning the Knox cup beating Frank Gormley in the final. The beaten semi-finalists were Darragh Murphy and Sean Myatt.

John Murphy won the Koey cup from Gerry Connellan with Pat Cuddy and Seamus Bowe the beaten semi-finalists. The Abbey cup was won by Tommy Stack from John Galvin. Senan Ryan and Ross McLoughlin won the Cyril Walsh cup from Mark Geraghty and Jim Griffin. The beaten semi-finalists were James Casey and John Earls/Eddie Glenny and Flan Lyons.

The annual hampers competition, sponsored by Ryan’s Centra Ennis, will be moved from October 1st/2nd to October 15/16th to accommodate the late commencement of the hollow coring this month.

Kilrush Golf Club:

Last week’s men’s competition at Kilrush was a singles v par which was won by Anthony Gilmartin (19) with 7 up. He had two to spare over Tom O’Dea (41) who finish with 5 up as did third placed Sean Moran (22) and fourth placed Michael Bolton (31).

John M. Cuggeran(12) won category 1 with 2 up, Pat Shannon (17) won category 2 with 3 up and John Robinson (22) won category 3 with 3 up.

In the lades competition sponsored by Bibi’s Fashions, the winner was Jean Lorigan (29) with 36 points from Miriam Saunders (28) with 35 points with Joan O’Malley (21) in third spot with 35 points, Claire Pyne (22) won category 2 with 34 points and Edel Crowley (30) won category 3 with 35 points. The twelve hole winner was Hanora O’Dea Kilkenny with 29 points.

Gort Golf Club:

The men’s competition at Gort last weekend was a singles stableford which was won by PJ. McAllen (10) with 44 points. Gerard Niland (6) won category 1 with 41 points, Colm Moylette (16) won category 2 with 41 point and Joseph Nugent (39) won category 3 with 38 points. The gross was won by David Quirke (2) with 35 points.

In the ladies competition the winner in category 1 was Ann Jordan (18) with 36 points. Maureen Brennan (22) won category 2 with 32 points, Patricia Wynne (38) won category 3 with 27 points while Bernadette Burke (47) won category 4 with 34 points.

Sixmilebridge Golf Society:

Adam Merriman was the winner of the Sixmilebridge society outing to Newcastle West on Saturday, Conor Murphy was second followed by Alan Murphy and Michael O’Halloran while the nines were won by Colin Murphy and Chris Watson.

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks