Munster Hurling League Group A Round 2
Tipperary 2-22 Clare 0-20

Clare will need to overcome Waterford by 14 points in order to return to the Munster Hurling League Final after being sunk in their 2023 competitive bow by hosts Tipperary in MacDonagh Park Nenagh on Sunday afternoon.

In a typically cobweb blowing early season derby, the heavy underfoot conditions were offset by
three penalties, with goalkeepers Barry Hogan and Eamonn Foudy tipping over efforts from Peter
Duggan and Jason Forde respectively. The latter would made full amends at the turn of the final
quarter with a second penalty to the left corner of the net to catapult Tipperary into the driving seat
at 2-14 to 0-16.

Backed by a strong wind, it was Clare who held the whip hand for the opening 20 minutes with
three point hauls from Peter Duggan and Robin Mounsey edging the visitors 0-8 to 0-5 in front.
In addition Eamonn Foudy produced a superb point blank save to deny Alan Tynan while fellow
newcomer Adam Hogan also made a vital interception to keep a threatening Tipperary at bay.
The breakthrough finally arrived in the 23rd minute when Tynan meandered through Clare’s last
line before offloading to the lively Sean Ryan to find the net from the edge of the square at 1-6 to 0-

Clare received a glorious opportunity to carve out a sizeable half-time cushion when a cynical foul
on Davy Conroy who was put through by Mark Rodgers provided a double whammy for the home
side who lost centre-back Bryan O’Mara to a black card and also conceded a penalty.
Clare failed to capitalise however on either boost as Duggan’s penalty was expertly tipped over by
Hogan while 14 Tipperary mainly through excellent freetaker Gearoid O’Connor matched the
Banner until the break to ensure a 1-10 to 0-13 stalemate with the conditions to come.

Despite the strong resistance of Diarmuid Ryan, the second period seemed far more one-sided as
the home side, backed by 12 different scorers, laid siege in Clare’s half.
Eamonn Foudy obstinately kept out goal bound efforts from O’Connor and substitute Forde while
Mark Kehoe’s pull powered use wide of the post while Clare’s best chance of a reprieve saw a
Paddy Donnellan shot blocked by full-back Michael Breen.

Forde’s second penalty proved decisive as they quickly doubled their advantage to eight entering
the final ten minutes with only a blocked Aron Shanagher shot to show at the other end.
There were debuts for Brandon O’Connell, John Conneally and Oisin O’Donnell, long-awaited
returns for Seadna Morey, Aidan McCarthy, Cian Galvin and Davy Conroy and impressive displays
from goalkeeper Foudy, Adam Hogan, Mark Rodgers, Robin Mounsey and substitute Diarmuid

However, with such mass experimentation, it was clearly about fleshing out their options for the
National League and Championship as Clare now turn their attentions to Waterford in Cusack Park
next Sunday (1.30pm), with only a sizeable win sufficient to halt Davy Fitzgerald’s side from
advancing to the final.

Scorers for Tipperary: Gearoid O’Connor (0-8, 6f, 1’65); Jason Forde (1-3, 1-1 Pen); Sean Ryan
(1-1); Conor Stakelum (0-2); Enda Heffernan, Mark Kehoe, Seamus Kennedy, Jake Morris, Alan
Tynan, Barry Hogan (f), Cian O’Dwyer, Johnny Ryan (0-1 each)
Scorers for Clare: Peter Duggan (0-5, 1 Pen, 3f); Robin Mounsey (0-4); Mark Rodgers, Diarmuid
Ryan, Davy Conroy (0-3 each); Aidan McCarthy, Patrick Crotty (0-1 each)

1: Barry Hogan (Kiladangan)
4: Gavin Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane)
3: Michael Breen (Ballina)
24: James Quigley (Kiladangan)
5: Enda Heffernan (Clonoulty-Rossmore)
6: Bryan O’Mara ((Holycross-Ballycahill)
7: Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

8: Paddy Cadell (JK Bracken’s)
9: Conor Stakelum (Thurles Sarsfields)
10: Seamus Kennedy (St Mary’s)
11: Gearoid O’Connor (Moyne-Templetuohy)
12: Alan Tynan (Roscrea)
13: Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)
14: Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
15: Sean Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
2: Conor McCarthy (Nenagh Éire Óg) for G. Ryan (HT)
20: Jason Forde (Solvermines) for Kehoe (48)
23: Cian O’Dwyer (Clonakenny) for Tynan (54)
26: Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers) for Cadell (54)
17: Conor Bowe (Moyne-Templetuohy) for Morrise (61)
18: John Campion (Drom & Inch) for Stakleum (66)
25: Jack Ryan (Clonoulty-Rossmore) for S. Ryan (67)

1: Eamonn Foudy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
4: Cian Nolan (Smith O’Brien’s)
3: Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown) (Captain)
2: Adam Hogan (Feakle)
5: Brandon O’Connell (Ballyea)
6: Darragh Lohan (Wolfe Tones)
7: Cian Galvin (Clarecastle)
8: Paddy Donnellan (Broadford)
9: Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
12: Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
11: Davy Conroy (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield)
10: Patrick Crotty (Scariff)
14: Aidan McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
21: Robin Mounsey (Ruan)
13: Mark Rodgers (Scariff)
25: Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe) for Morey (31, inj)
24: Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones) for Crotty (HT)
22: David McInerney (Tulla) for Nolan (50)
26: David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Galvin (50)
18: John Conneally (Clooney-Quin) for O’Connell (55)
23: Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin) for Hogan (73, inj)
20: Oisin O’Donnell (Crusheen) for Lohan (76)
Referee: Eamonn Stapleton (Limerick)

Related News

malcolm moran 1
Asylum seekers need to get 'fair chance' from people of Shannon
shannon industrial estate refugee building 2
Department confirm State owned building in Shannon will be used for emergency accommodation
sarah ferrigan sarah clancy newmarket on fergus community forum 02-12-19 10
Clare communities must reject far-right agitators trying to stoke community division
mid west hospital campaign 21-05-22 9 noeleen moran
Hospital apologies from UHL management have come too late - health activists

Subscribe for just €3 per month

If you’re here, you care about County Clare. So do we. Did you rely on us for Covid-19 updates, follow our election coverage, or visit The Clare Echo every week for breaking news and sport? The Clare Echo invests in local journalism and we want to safeguard its future in our county. By becoming a subscriber you are supporting what we do, will receive access to all our premium articles and a better experience, while helping us improve our offering to you. Subscribe to and get the first six months for just €3 a month (less than 75c per week), and thereafter €8 per month. Cancel anytime, limited time offer. T&Cs Apply.

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks