No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Jims roofing 2008

No account yet? Register

*St Flannan’s celebrate. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

St Flannan’s College have won the Harty Cup for the twenty second time overcoming challengers CBC Cork on Sunday.

St Flannan’s College 1-15
CBC Cork 1-12
Venue: Mallow GAA Complex

Postponed due to inclement weather two weeks and deferred twenty three hours on Saturday, the 2020 Dr. Harty Cup final had a lot of anticipation surrounding its buildup. Such was the enthusiasm that traffic congestion forced a ten minute delay to the scheduled 12pm throw-in time.

The Flannans ultras. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

Although CBC Cork were first to score, St Flannans had the better start with nice points from Peter Power, Killian O’Connor and a superb long range shot from Tony Butler. Jack Cahalane of the well-known Cork hurling family proved his blood links as he kept the Cork side in contention during the first half.

Late efforts from joint captain Conner Hegarty and Cahalane at the conclusion of the half left St Flannan’s 1-08 0-07 ahead as the sides entered the dressing rooms at half-time.

Despite Cahalane firing the first three points of the second half but St Flannan’s kept their composure and rallied with three Cian Galvin white flags. CBC continued to press on goal but Cian Broderick delivered whenever he was called upon.

Oisin O’Donnell. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

Killian O’Connor and Oisin O’Donnell added inspirational efforts for Kevin O’Grady’s side as they maintained their place as the roll of honours leaders in the prestigious Munster PPS competition.

Past pupils and retired members of staff from the Ennis secondary school were Leeside as they witnessed a dominant display. Several of these spectators would fall into the bracket of being opposed to sweepers and modern systems but they saw first-hand how an effective sweeper can dilute the opposition’s scoring threat, this is largely one of the reasons why CBC Cork amassed just 0-04 from play in sixty minutes.

Tony Butler in possession. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

Although it was a fine team display for the winners, Killian O’Connor, Conner Hegarty, Cian Broderick, Oisin O’Donnell, Tony Butler and Cian Galvin were best for the winners.

Scorers St Flannan’s College: C Galvin (0-06 5f), K O’Connor (0-04), D Cahill (1-00), O O’Donnell (0-02), C Hegarty (0-02), P Power (0-01)

Scorers CBC Cork: J Cahalane (1-09 8f), R Cotter (0-02), E Kirby (0-01).

St Flannan’s College:
1: Cian Broderick (Clarecastle)

4: Matthew Reidy (Ballyea)
3: Darragh Healy (Clarecastle)
2: Niall Walsh (The Banner)

7: Stephen Casey (Ballyea)

9: Jarlath Collins (Éire Óg)
6: Cian Galvin (Clarecastle)
5: Tony Butler (St Josephs Doora/Barefield)

8: Conner Hegarty (Inagh/Kilnamona)
15: Oisin O’Donnell (Crusheen)

10: Ashley Brohan (Ruan)
11: Colm Cassidy (Clooney/Quin)
12: Killian O’Connor (Corofin)

13: Peter Power (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
14: Diarmuid Cahill (Corofin)

19: James Doherty (Clarecastle) for Cassidy (45)
24: Dylan Cunningham (Clooney/Quin) for Power (53)
20: Dara Nagle (St Josephs Doora/Barefield) for Brohan (56)
22: Ryan Power (Ruan) for O’Donnell (58)

CBC Cork:
1: Eoin O’Neill (Blarney)

2: Gavin Reddy (Midleton)
3: Shane Kingston (Ballinora)
4: Eoin Downey (Glen Rovers)

5: Pierce Cummins (St Colmans)
6: Carthach Daly (Lismore)
7: Gearoid Mulcahy (Glen Rovers)

8: James Dwyer (Ballincollig)
9: Eoghan Kidney (Cobh)

10: Eoghan Kirby (Blarney)
11: Niall Hartnett (Douglas)
27: Denis McSweeney (Blarney)

13: Robbie Cotter (Blackrock)
14: Jack Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
15: Daire Burke (Douglas)

20: David Cremin (Midleton) for McSweeney (52)

Referee: John O’Halloran (Limerick)

Clare Echo House Ad

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

* indicates required

Related News

Scroll to Top