Latest News County Clare

Six Clare players part of Ashbourne winning UL team

in Home/Sport by

*Clare Hehir celebrates in front of her UL teammates. Photograph: ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

UL were crowned Ashbourne Cup champions for the fifth year in succession on Sunday with six Clare members of their panel.

Inagh/Kilnamona’s Clare Hehir was joint captain of the side from full while Clarecastle/Ballyea’s Doireann Murphy was in goals, Ciara Grogan of Clooney/Quin  and Alannah Ryan from Kilkishen were both playing at corner back and wing back respectively. Hehir’s clubmate Andrea O’Keeffe and Tulla’s Sinead Conlon were introduced from the bench as UL recorded a 3-14 0-12 win over UCC in Waterford.

Managed by former Éire Óg coach, Adrian O’Sullivan, UL became the seventh team and fourth college to complete the UPMC Ashbourne Cup five-in-a-row. Ten of the panel collected their first medal while nine players picked up their fourth.

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top