Default post

A major revamp of the Killaloe Diocese has been announced by Bishop Fintan Monahan.

It comes following months of much consultation between Bishop Fintan, the Pastoral Planning Team, the Clergy and a series of public meetings held across the Diocese in March and April. Four priests will be retiring, one is taking a leave of absence and another fifteen will be changing parish.

At present, the fifty eight parishes of the diocese have been divided into twelve clusters. These structures have been reviewed and there will now be fifteen pastoral areas across the Diocese.

Priests under the retirement age (75) will act as Co-Parish Priests in each Pastoral Area. One priest in each Pastoral Area will be appointed as Vicar Forane to co-ordinate and oversee joint pastoral efforts and programs. Retired Clergy over the age of 75 will continue to provide ministry support in each Pastoral Area according to need and ability.

Announcing the Diocesan Appointments for 2018 Bishop Fintan expressed gratitude to the clergy who were so accommodating in responding to the current pastoral challenges and to those who participated in the area meetings as well as the Pastoral Planning team.

Appointments will take effect from Friday July 20th. Retiring priests include, Harry Bohan, Seán Sexton, John Jones and Tim O’Brien. Mullagh Parish Priest, Anthony McMahon is taking a leave of absence.

Several priests in the diocese will be changing parish. Among them are; Seamus Nohilly, Tom Hogan, Pat Greed, Tom Ryan, William Teehan, Pat Mulcahy, Brendan Kyne, Donagh O’Meara, David Carroll, Fergal O’Neill, Tom O’Gorman, Gerard Jones, Paddy McMahon, and Rexon Chullickal.

Newly ordained, Martin Shanahan will become the co-Parish Priest in the Críocha Callan Pastoral Area and will reside in Inagh.

Pastoral Areas and Serving Clergy
Pastoral Area 1
Cross, Carrigaholt, Kilkee, Doonbeg.
2 Priests + 1 semi-retired – Gerry Kenny, Michael Casey, (Joe Haugh).
Vicar Forane – Gerry Kenny.

Pastoral Area 2
Kilrush, Killimer, Cooraclare, Kilmihil
4 Priests – Michael Sheedy, Martin Blake, Tony Casey, Peter O’Loughlin.
Vicar Forane – Tony Casey.

Pastoral Area 3 (Radharc na n-Oiléan)
Kilmurry McMahon, Coolmeen, Kildysart, Lissycasey-Ballynacally
2 Priests + 3 semi-retired – Albert McDonnell, Brendan Kyne, (Joe Hourigan, Tom McGrath, Paddy McMahon
Vicar Forane – Albert McDonnell.

Pastoral Area 4 (Críocha Callan)
Mullagh, Milltown Malbay, Inagh, Kilmaley
3 Priests + 4 semi-retired – Donagh O’Meara, Pat Larkin, Martin Shanahan (Seamus Mullin, Sean Murphy, Seán Sexton, Michael McLaughlin)
Vicar Forane – Pat Larkin

Pastoral Area 5 (Abbey)
Ennis, Doora-Barefield, Quin, Clarecastle
7 Priests + 2 semi-retired – Tom Ryan, Gerard Fitzgerald, John McGovern, Tom O’Gorman, Dariusz Plasek, Pat Malone, Jerry Carey (Pat Taaffe, Harry Brady).
Vicar Forane – Tom Ryan

Pastoral Area 6 (Tradaree)
Newmarket-on-Fergus, Shannon, Sixmilebridge
3 Priests + 2 semi-retired. Arnold Rosney, Tom Fitzpatrick, Francis Xavier Kochuveettil, (Harry Bohan, Brendan O’Donoghue).
Vicar Forane – Arnold Rosney

Pastoral Area 7
Tulla, O’Callaghan’s Mills, Broadford
3 Priests and one semi-retired – Brendan Quinlivan, Donal Dwyer, John Bane and Brendan Lawlor.
Vicar Forane – Brendan Quinlivan

Pastoral Area 8 (Imeall Bóirne)
Tubber, Corofin, Ruan, Crusheen
2 Priests – Damien Nolan, Pat O’Neill.
Vicar Forane – Damien Nolan

Pastoral Area 9
Killanena, Feakle, Scariff, Mountshannon, Bodyke, Ogonnelloe.
3 Priests + 3 Semi-retired. Joe McMahon, David Carroll, Fergal O’Neill (John Jones, James O’Brien, J.J. Rogers)
Vicar Forane – David Carroll

Pastoral Area 10 (Scáth na Sionnaine)
Killaloe, Clonlara, Castleconnell
4 Priests. James Grace, Pat Mulcahy, Willie Teehan, Tom Whelan.
Vicar Forane – Willie Teehan

Pastoral Area 11
Portroe, Youghalarra, Puckane, Nenagh, Silvermines, Templederry
6 Priests + 3 semi-retired – Rexon Chullickall, Willie McCormack, Brendan Moloney Des Hillery, Ger Jones, Michael Geraghty, (Tim O’Brien, Seamus Gardiner, Tom Seymour).
Vicar Forane – Brendan Moloney

Pastoral Area 12
Cloughjordan, Dunkerrin, Toomevara
3 Priests – Pat Greed, Joe Kennedy, John Molloy.
Vicar Forane – Pat Greed

Pastoral Area 13
Terryglass, Borrisokane, Lorrha
2 Priests. Michael Cooney, Tom O’Halloran.
Vicar Forane – Tom O’Halloran.

Pastoral Area 14 (Brendan)
Birr, Shinrone, Kilcolman, Kinnity
4 Priests + one semi-retired + 1 school chaplain. Tom Hogan, Michael Reddan, Michael O’Meara, Kieran Blake (Tom Hannon), Pat Gilbert.
Vicar Forane – Tom Hogan

Pastoral Area 15 (Cronan)
Roscrea, Bournea, Kyle and Knock
3 Priests + 2 semi-retired + 1 school chaplain. Pat Treacy, Michael Harding, Pat Deely (Thomas Corbett, Noel Kennedy), Lorcán Kenny.

Killaloe Diocese includes portions of Counties Clare, Tipperary, Offaly and Limerick. There are 58 Parises in the Diocese served by 52 priests under the age of 75 and 38 priests over the age of 75.

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks