No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Jason Ryan. Photograph: Martin Connolly

Jason Ryan of Kilrush Rangers has been elected as the new Chairman of the Clare District Soccer League (CDSL).

Officers for the new CDSL Committee were put in place on Monday night, six months after the sudden resignation of long-serving duo Oliver Fitzpatrick (Chairman) and Michael Lydon (Secretary).

An annual general meeting (AGM) had been deferred three times by the new personnel before the virtual gathering took place with new officers appealing to clubs to give them a two year term.

Acting Chairman, Ronnie Pyne informed the 26 clubs in attendance that they were hosting an emergency general meeting (EGM) and that an AGM which would include the Treasurer’s Report, motions and any other business would occur “before the season starts”. The EGM dealt only with the election of officers.

Of the seven officers elected at the 2019 AGM, five had resigned by September 2020 with Fitzpatrick, Lydon, Derek Dormer (PRO), Donie Garrihy (FAI Junior Council Delegate) and Alfonso D’Auria stepping down from their respective positions.

Pyne stated, “We lost five people, the five people had done trojan work for Clare soccer down through the years, I would like to thank them, and wish them well, the five of them will be missed but they all stepped down. We have great lads that have come forward to put their names in and are willing to come on board”.

A two year term was requested by the new officers. “The reason why, if we don’t play any 2021 season and go straight into new season in August we would like the same committee to go forward until June 2022. If soccer comes back in April or June, we would have to have an AGM in June or July for new season kicking off,” the Ennis man explained.

September saw the last meeting between the County committee and clubs, “we spoke about things that happened and got great praise from clubs, they said to forget about the past, we’ve great people coming through tonight and I know they will work for Clare soccer,” Ronnie recalled. He added, “There is the makings of a good committee there”.

Former registrar Jason Ryan has been elevated to the top job with Pyne continuing as Vice Chairman. Denis Collins joins the Committee for the first time in the role of secretary with Tony Downey returning as Treasurer following a mid-season resignation last year.

Newmarket Celtic’s Alan McCoy takes on the mantle as fixtures secretary with Jim Madden returning as PRO two years after losing his long-standing role on the Committee. Brendan Browne and Eddie Crowe join the Committee for the first time.

Chairman: Jason Ryan (Kilrush Rangers)
Vice Chairman: Ronnie Pyne (Turnpike Rovers)
Secretary: Denis Collins (Ennis Town)
Treasurer: Tony Downey (Ennis Town)
Fixtures Secretary: Alan McCoy (Newmarket Celtic)
Registrar: Eddie Crowe (Sporting Ennistymon)
PRO: Jim Madden (Shannon Olympic)
Munster Delegate: Thomas Leahy (Corofin Harps)
Youth Liaison Officer / COVID-19 Officer: Tommy Molloy (Avenue Utd)
Women’s Football Officer: Frank Burke (Burren Utd Women’s Club)
Committee Member: Gerard Kelly (Shannon Town Utd)
Committee Member: Brendan Browne (Manus Celtic)

Clare Echo Recruitment

Related News

Scroll to Top