*Cian Hughes. 

A short film shot in Ennis and Shannon last year is being screened to audiences across the United States of America this week with early reviews of the performance of a Clare actor in his first role described as highly positive.

An eight day special screening to celebrate Europe Day sees the Irish Consulate in New York and Irish Screen America present PADDY to US audiences.

Directed by Roisin Kearney, PADDY was produced by Maeve McGrath and Keith Bogue with Sinead Collopy the writer behind the short film. It was funded by Creative Ireland, Clare Arts Office and Clare County Council.

Ennis actor Cian Hughes stars in what is his first role. The teenager is currently filming a role for the second series of Smother and will sit his Leaving Certificate next month.

Since its world premier at The Galway Film Fleadh, PADDY has been shown all over America and Europe. It was broadcast at this year’s Virgin Media Dublin International Film Festival, the Kerry International Film Festival and the Waterford Film Festival. It won Best Irish Short at the Catalyst International Film Festival.

PADDY had a special screening at the St Patrick’s Film Festival in London this year. This week, it is to be shown as part of the Toronto Irish Film Festival. It will also feature in Sweden, Turin and across Italy, later this month it will form part of the Fastnet Film Festival and the Carlow Arts Festival before going to Bulgaria then back to Toronto in July.

Moloney’s Bar on O’Connell St in Ennis and the street itself was the base for a vast amount of the filming which took place over a weekend before Christmas.

Producer Keith Bogue told The Clare Echo that the assistance of Ann Moloney and her family was integral to the short film running smoothly. “We’ve been trying to get back to thank Ann and hopefully we’ll get there when the lockdown is over,” he outlined.

Keith predicted that Cian will be one to watch in the acting sphere judging by the reaction to his on-screen debut. “The feedback we have been getting from film festivals across the world about him has been amazing,” he admitted.

Related News

magowna house inch refugees 16-05-23 62
'Chaos & heartache' with rash nature of relocating refugees
hermitage roads resurfacing 15-08-23 4
Council engineer to 'bring hard hat' when meeting Hermitage residents over surfacing complaints
bill slattery 21-08-23 5
Campervans flouting the system in Lahinch - Slattery
Taoiseach Simon Harris with President Volodymr Zelenskyy04
'Ukrainians extremely welcome in Clare but there has to be a balance' - Taoiseach addresses movement of refugees
Latest News
magowna house inch refugees 16-05-23 62
'Chaos & heartache' with rash nature of relocating refugees
clare v wexford 18-06-22 26 ken ralph
Overcoming Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh a turning point in Clare's season
deric hartigan ireland am bunratty 1
Virgin Media TV's Deric enjoys homecoming broadcasting from Bunratty
hermitage roads resurfacing 15-08-23 4
Council engineer to 'bring hard hat' when meeting Hermitage residents over surfacing complaints
bill slattery 21-08-23 5
Campervans flouting the system in Lahinch - Slattery
Premium
bill slattery 21-08-23 5
Campervans flouting the system in Lahinch - Slattery
Taoiseach Simon Harris with President Volodymr Zelenskyy04
'Ukrainians extremely welcome in Clare but there has to be a balance' - Taoiseach addresses movement of refugees
ciara malone justin gleeson micheál martin 1
‘Ennis is one of the top tier towns in Ireland’
micheál martin sheila lynch 1
'Informed investment decisions' will be made based on Ennis socio-economic profile
ennis st patrick's day parade 17-03-24 cathal crowe 1
Clare TD Crowe denied planning after he discloses second home to An Bord Pleanála

Subscribe for just €3 per month

If you’re here, you care about County Clare. So do we. Did you rely on us for Covid-19 updates, follow our election coverage, or visit The Clare Echo every week for breaking news and sport? The Clare Echo invests in local journalism and we want to safeguard its future in our county. By becoming a subscriber you are supporting what we do, will receive access to all our premium articles and a better experience, while helping us improve our offering to you. Subscribe to clareecho.ie and get the first six months for just €3 a month (less than 75c per week), and thereafter €8 per month. Cancel anytime, limited time offer. T&Cs Apply. www.clareecho.ie.

Subscribe for just €3 per month

If you’re here, you care about County Clare. So do we. Did you rely on us for Covid-19 updates, follow our election coverage, or visit The Clare Echo every week for breaking news and sport? The Clare Echo invests in local journalism and we want to safeguard its future in our county. By becoming a subscriber you are supporting what we do, will receive access to all our premium articles and a better experience, while helping us improve our offering to you. Subscribe to clareecho.ie and get the first six months for just €3 a month (less than 75c per week), and thereafter €8 per month. Cancel anytime, limited time offer. T&Cs Apply. www.clareecho.ie.

Scroll to Top