Latest News County Clare

One Clare change as Deasy replaces Conlon

in Home/Sport by

*Niall Deasy & Michael Breen. Photograph: Martin Connolly

Clare have made one change from the side which survived a Wexford comeback last weekend for Sunday’s final round of the Allianz NHL against Limerick.

Ballyea’s Niall Deasy comes into the side in place of John Conlon. Despite management expressing confidence in the aftermath of Sunday’s three point win that the injury was not too serious, the All Star has been ruled out of action for four weeks and the remainder of their League campaign.

Captain Patrick O’Connor makes his second appearance of the year at wing back alongside Conor Cleary and David Fitzgerald.

Diarmuid Ryan will hope to continue his scoring form, he’s named at wing-forward in the same line as Tony Kelly and Peter Duggan.

After Mary Immaculate College’s Fitzgibbon Cup campaign came to an end with a heavy final defeat to UCC last weekend, Gary Cooney has been returned to the matchday panel however his teammate Colin Guilfoyle does not.

Aaron Gillane who captained the Mary I side returns to the Limerick lineup, he is one of five changes to their side that lost to Cork at the weekend. Young hurler of the Year, Kyle Hayes, Dan Morrissey, Colin Ryan and UCC Fitzgibbon Cup winner, Paddy O’Loughlin are given starting jerseys in place of Shane Dowling, Diarmaid Byrnes, Pat Ryan, Darragh O’Donovan and Mikey O’Brien.

John Kiely’s Limerick have already secured their place in the quarter-finals while Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor need a win for their charges to guarantee their spot in the knockout stage.

A crowd of 10,000 is expected in Cusack Park on Sunday.


1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)
2. Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
3. David McInerney (Tulla)
4. Jack Browne (Ballyea)
20. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber) – Captain
6. Conor Cleary (St. Joseph’s Miltown)
7. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)
8. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)
9. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
10. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
11. Tony Kelly (Ballyea) Captain
12. Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe)
13. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
24. Niall Deasy (Ballyea)
15. Podge Collins (Cratloe)

16. Andrew Fahy (Whitegate)
5. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
14. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
17. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
18. Aidan McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
19. Gary Cooney (O’Callaghan’s Mills)
21. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin)
22. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
23. David Conroy (St. Joseph’s Doora Barefield)
25. Michael O’Neill (Kilmaley)
26. Óisín O’Brien (Clonlara)


Nickie Quaid,

Tom Condon,
Sean Finn,
Richie English,

Paddy O’Loughlin,
Declan Hannon,
Dan Morrissey,
Cian Lynch,
Colin Ryan,

Gearoid Hegarty,
Kyle Hayes,
Tom Morrissey,

Aaron Gillane,
Seamus Flanagan,
Peter Casey.

Newmarket-on-Fergus native, Páraic McMahon is a freelance journalist and broadcaster currently working for numerous national and local publications including The Clare Echo, The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent, The Irish Times, RTÉ,, A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

FAI owe CSSL €22k

Clare Schoolboys/Schoolgirls Soccer League is owed €22,171 from the Football Association of
0 £0.00
Go to Top