No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

Clare’s senior camogie side have secured their place in Division 1 of the Littlewoods Ireland National Camogie League for another season.

Clare 1-17
Dublin 2-11
Venue: St Brendan’s Park, Birr

Following defeats to Galway and Limerick, Clare needed a win in this relegation play-off to avoid a do or die clash with Waterford next weekend.

Management were forced into one late change to their announced starting team. Clodagh O’Halloran was given her first start for the county seniors at the expense of Aoife Keane who sustained a knock at training on Friday evening.

Fortunately for the Banner County, Chloe Morey won the shootout against Aisling Maher. The Sixmilebridge woman was in top form and rifled to the net on thirteen minutes when she was able to hold off several Dublin defenders after receiving a pass from Becky Foley who lined out at centre forward.

Indeed it was Morey that put Clare in front for the first time with forty six minutes and luckily for the girls in Saffron and Blue they kept this advantage for the remainder of the tie. Morey also contributed three long range frees which were vital to guaranteeing Ger O’Connell’s side Division 1 action next year.

Scorers Clare: C Morey (1-07 2’45 3f), R Conway (0-02), B Foley (0-02), E Kelly (0-02), O Duggan (0-01), A O’Loughlin (0-01),

Scorers Dublin: A Maher (1-06 4f 1’45), A Whelan (1-01), N Gannon (0-01), C Nicoletti (0-01),

1. Doireann Murphy (Clarecastle)

2. Susan Daly (Scariff-Ogonnelloe)
3. Clare Hehir (Inagh-Kilnamona) (Captain)
4. Ciara Grogan (Clooney-Quin)

5. Alannah Ryan (Kilkishen)
6. Niamh O’Dea (Kilmaley)
7. Laura McMahon (Newmarket-on-Fergus)

8. Zi Yan Spillane (Feakle-Killanena)
9. Orlaith Duggan (Clooney-Quin)

17: Clodagh O’Halloran (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
11. Becky Foley (Truagh-Clonlara)
12. Máire McGrath (Sixmilebridge)

13. Eimear Kelly (Truagh-Clonlara)
14. Chloe Morey (Sixmilebridge)
15. Robyn Conway (Feakle-Killanena)

20: Áine O’Loughlin (Truagh/Clonlara) for O’Halloran
19: Sinead Conlon (Tulla) for McMahon
23: Bridin Dinan (Tulla) for McGrath
26: Siofra Ni Chonaill (St Josephs Doora/Barefield) for Kelly

1: Ciara Tierney (Na Fianna)

2: Deirdre Johnstone (St Vincents)
3: Eve O’Brien (Na Fianna)
4: Muireann Kelleher (Na Fianna)

5: Emma O’Byrne (Good Counsel)
6: Grainne Quinn (St Vincents)
7: Hannah Hegarty (St Judes)

8: Emma Flanagan (Lucan Sarsfields)
9: Leah Butler (St Judes)

10: Niamh Gannon (St Judes)
11: Judy Couch (Sopher)
12: Aoife Whelan (Castleknock)

13: Cliodhna Nicoletti (St Judes)
14: Kerrie Finnegan (Faughs Celtic)
15: Aisling Maher (St Vincents)

Referee: John Dermody (Westmeath)


Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks