No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Jims roofing 2008

No account yet? Register

Clare’s minor hurlers have suffered their second defeat of the 2018 Munster championship losing to Tipperary by five points.

Tipperary 2-14
Clare 1-12
Venue: Semple Stadium

Having learned from taking their foot off the pedal in their last outing, Tommy Dunne’s Tipperary were eager not to make the same mistakes against a Clare side which made three changes from their round two win over Waterford.

This time round it was the turn of Sean Doyle’s charges to ease off on the gas and once again the punishment for doing so was defeat. Clare led 1-08 1-05 at the interval and failed to push ahead on the resumption.

Mark Rodgers. Photo: Gary Collins

Within seventeen minutes of the second half, Tipp had outscored the visitors five points to one. Their dominance continued for the remainder of the half limiting Clare to just four white flags in the second half. Mark Rodgers raided for the Banner’s only goal while the Premier managed to secure the win despite being reduced to fourteen. Kiladanagan’s Sean Hayes impressed for the victors.

Clare still have a chance of qualifying but face a talented Limerick in their final game of the round robin.


1. Aaron Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)

2. Conor O’Dwyer (Cashel King Cormacs)
3. Conor Whelan (Mullinahone)
4. Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris)

5. Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers) (Captain)
6. Fintan Purcell (Drom-Inch)
7. Seán Phelan (Nenagh Éire Óg)

8. Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris) (0-02)
9. John Campion (Drom-Inch)

11. Cian O’Farrell (Nenagh Éire Óg) (1-01)
14. Ryan Renehan (Cappawhite)
12. Kian O’Kelly (Kilruane MacDonagh’s)

13. Devon Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams) (0-02)
10. Seán Hayes (Kiladangan) (1-01)
15. James Devaney (Borris-Ileigh) (0-7 6f, 1’65)


20. Jack Morrissey (Moycarkey-Borris) (0-01) for Campion (35)
18. Mikey O’Shea (Mullinahone) for O’Kelly (49)
19. Kevin Maher (Borris-Ileigh) for Renehan (54)
23. Darren Flood (Moycarkey-Borris) for O’Farrell (60)
21. Billy O’Connor (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) for Phelan (63)


1. Cillian O’Brien (Clonlara)

2. Jack Enright (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
3. Adam Mungovan (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield)
4. Mike Gough (Smith O’Brien’s)

5. Jason Griffin (Inagh-Kilnamona)
6. Dylan McMahon (Clonlara)
7. Darragh Healy (Clarecastle) (Captain) (0-01 1’65)

8. Aidan Moriarty (Clonlara)
9. Tony Butler (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield)

10. William Halpin (Tulla) (0-02)
11. Gearoid O’Grady (Kilmaley)
14. Kealan Guyler (Inagh-Kilnamona) (0-7 6f)

13. Mark Rodgers (Scariff) (1-01)
12. Robin Mounsey (Ruan)
15. Shane Meehan (Banner)


21. Conner Hegarty (Inagh-Kilnamona) (0-01) for Meehan (42)
19. Fionn Slattery (Bodyke) for Butler (49)
22. Josh Brack (Clarecastle) for O’Grady (51)

Referee: Mike Sexton (Limerick)

Related News

Scroll to Top