Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Clare’s Michael Kelly. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

Despite a bright start, Clare’s involvement in the 2022 Munster minor football championship ended this Thursday evening.

Tipperary 3-12
Clare 1-8
Venue: Wolfe Tones GAA Grounds, Shannon

Ahead 0-3 to 0-0 after eleven minutes, Clare were chasing the game from here on.

Clare’s kickout from Cian Howard after the visitors had opened their account with a Conal Grogan point, was intercepted and Ben Carey fired home the opening goal. Clare levelled through Cathal Talty but the response from Tipperary left Clare reeling as they hit 1-6 without reply on their way to a 2-6 to 0-5 interval lead.

Clare enjoyed good early possession in the second half but the winners had stretched their lead by two points to nine by the three quarter stage, Clare’s cause not helped by a black card for midfielder Tadhg Lysaght which left the home side with fourteen players for ten minutes.

Clare were struggling as Tipperary dominated the key areas and won a huge amount of possession on turnovers.

It was 2-12 to 0-7 as the game ticked into four minutes of additional time when to their credit, a battling Clare struck for 1-1 from Cathal Talty, the goal coming from the penalty spot after he had been fouled.

Tipperary, however had the final say when another Clare kickout was intercepted and Daithi Hogan punished the error when firing to the net.

It was a disappointing end to a campaign which started so impressively two weeks earlier at the same venue where Clare were 4-18 to 0-4 winners over Waterford.

Subsequent losses to both Limerick and Tipperary has knocked the Banner side out of the race and it’s Limerick and Tipperary who will play the phase 1 final next week to determine who will go through to a Munster semi-final date with either Kerry or Cork.

Team captain Sean McMahon impressed in all of Clare three outings as did Daire Hill at full back, Michael Kelly, Cathal Talty and Darren Keane

Scorers; Tipperary; Fionn Fitzgerald (1-3, 0-2 frees)); Ben Carey and Daithi Hogan (1-1) each; Conal Grogan (0-3, 2f) Paddy O’Keeffe, Charlie English, Eanna Ormond, Oisin Shelly (0-1) each

Scorers Clare; Cathal Talty (1-5, 1-0 penalty, 0-3 frees); Sean McMahon (0-2, 1 free) Darren Keane (0-1)

1: Robbie McGrath (Galtee Rovers)

5: Eoin O’Connell (Loughmore-Castleiney
2: Alex McSherry (Clonmel Clmmercials),
4: Jamie Bergin (J. K. Brackens)

3: Ciaran Byrne (Golden Kilfeacle)
6: Charlie King (Ballina )captain
7: Thomas Charles

8: Joe Higgins (clonmel Commercials)
9: Paddy O’Keeffe (Moyle Rovers)

10: Charlie English (Ballyporeen),
11: Tommyu O’Cnnor )Kilsaheelan Kilcash)
12: Ben Carey (Ballylooby Castlegrace)

13: Conal Grovan (Galtee Rovers)
14: Daithi Hogan (St. Patricks)
15: Fionn Fitzgerald (Iillenaule)

20: Darragh Landers (Clonmel Clmmercials) for Grogan (45)
21: Éanna Ormond (Golden Kilfeacle) for O’Connor (45)
24: Oisin Shelly (Killenaule) for Carey (50)
17: Alex Greed ((Clonmel commercials) for English (56)
18: Dylan Fogarty (Boherlahan Dualla) for Higgins (56)

1: Cian Howard (Éire Óg);

7: Evan Cahill (Kilmurry-Ibrickane)
3: Daire Hill (Lissycasey)
2: Michael Kelly (Lissycasey)

5: Sean McMahon (Banner) Captain,
6: Paddy Nagle (St. Josephs Doora/Barefield)
4: Ronan Kilreoy (Banner)

8: Jake Garry (Cooraclare);
9: Tadhg Lysaght (Kilrush Shamrocks)

10: Gavin O’Shea (Doonbeg)
11: Darren Keane(Lissycasey)
12: Mark Kelleher (Ennistymon)

13: Dara Killeen (Lissycasey)
14: Conor Fennell (Kilrush Shamrocks)
15: Cathal Talty (Kilmurry-Ibrickane);

18: Colin Riordan (wolfe Tones) for O’Shea (37)
17: Niall Fitzgerald (Wolfe Tones) for Kilroy (21)
20: Keelan O’Donoghue (Cratloe) for Fennell (49)
24: Jamie Moylan (Cratloe) for Nagle (52)

Referee: Eoghan Ó Muircheartaigh (Kerry)

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks