Latest News County Clare

Lohan’s Clare get past Davy’s Wexford

in Home/Sport by

Clare’s David Fitzgerald and Wexford’s Shaun Murphy in action in Wexford Park. Pic: Jim Campbell Photography

Brian Lohan’s Clare hurlers made it two wins from two as they accounted for Wexford on Sunday afternoon.

Clare 0-18
Wexford 0-15
Venue: Chadwicks Wexford Park

Despite playing over forty minutes with fourteen men, Clare managed to hold off the challenge of Wexford and maintain their unbeaten run in the 2020 Allianz National Hurling League. Captain John Conlon was shown a straight red card in the first half for a high tackle on Kevin Foley.

Playing with a very strong wind, the Banner built up a strong lead and were 0-12 0-04 ahead as the half-time whistle sounded.

Ryan Taylor went close to goaling inside the second quarter but had to settle for a point. Ballyea’s Tony Kelly hit twelve points over the course of the game and was their chief scorer, late scores from David Fitzgerald and Shane O’Donnell left them in the driving seat at the interval.

A Wexford fightback was expected and although the reigning Leinster champions outscored Clare 0-09 0-06 in the second half but it wasn’t sufficient enough to stop Clare from claiming the win, their tally of ten wides in this period greatly restricted them.

With fifty eight minutes on the clock, the hosts had scraped the gap back to a single point. However their indiscipline and shooting would be their downfall as Clare claimed a three point win.

Neither manager spoke to each other at the final whistle.

Scorers for Clare: Tony Kelly 0-12 (10 frees), David Fitzgerald 0-3, Ryan Taylor 0-2, Shane O’Donnell 0-1.

Scorers for Wexford: Jack O’Connor 0-4 (3 frees), Pádraig Foley 0-3 (3 frees), Rory O’Connor, Conor McDonald (0-2 each), Aidan Rochford, Mark Fanning, Paul Morris, Liam Óg McGovern 0-1 each.


1 Donal Touhy (Crusheen)

3 Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown Malbay)
2 Jack Browne (Ballyea)
4 Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)

7 Stephen O’Halloran (Clarecastle)
6 Pat O’Connor (Tubber)
5 Aidan McCarthy (Inagh/Kilnamona)

8 David McInerney (Tulla)
9 Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

12 David Reidy (Éire Óg, Ennis)
11 David Fitzgerald (Inagh Kilnamona)
10 Ian Galvin (Clonlara)

13 Ryan Taylor (Clooney Quin)
14 John Conlon (Clonlara, capt.)
15 Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg, Ennis)

19 Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge) for Kelly (blood, 26-29); for Reidy (60);
21 Domhnall McMahon (Michael Cusacks) for Galvin (46)
18 Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge) for Taylor (55)
17 Liam Corry (Éire Óg) for Quirke (69)
24 Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones) for O’Donnell (70+2).

1 Mark Fanning (Glynn Barntown)

4 Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s)
3 Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
17 Shane Reck (Oylegate Glenbrien)

5 Damien Reck (Oylegate Glenbrien)
7 Pádraig Foley (Crossabeg Ballymurn)
6 Shaun Murphy (Oulart The Ballagh)

10 Liam Óg McGovern (St Anne’s)
8 Kevin Foley (Rapparees)

13 Aidan Rochford (St Anne’s)
11 Rory O’Connor (St Martin’s)
9 Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s, capt.)

22 Cathal Dunbar (Naomh Éanna)
14 Conor McDonald (Naomh Éanna)
15 Paul Morris (Ferns St. Aidan’s)

12 Aidan Nolan (HWH Bunclody) for McGovern (61)
21 Harry Kehoe (Cloughbawn) for D Reck (64).

Referee: Seán Cleere (Kilkenny)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top