*Members of the victorious Lissycasey U19 side. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

Lissycasey were crowned winners of the inaugural under 19 football league at Kilmihil on Tuesday evening when they recorded a four point win over Kilmurry-Ibrickane.

Lissycasey 1-14
Kilmurry Ibrickane 1-10
Venue: St Michael’s Park, Kilmihil

When they met earlier in the competition they had shared the spoils and for much of this final on a well appointed pitch, another draw looked likely.

The teams were level on a number of occasions including half time when the score was 1-6 each.

Man of the match Darragh Killeen scored Lissycasey’s goal but a short time later Oisin Sexton struck for Kilmurry Ibrickane’s major.

Kilmurry Ibrickane landed the first two points of the second half to edge in front again but Lissycasey hit back with like scores from Shane Culligan and Fionn Cotter to tie up the contest yet again.

Wing back Cotter played a key role in the second half landing 0-3 from play while substitutes Darren Keane and Sam Wragg also made important contributions.

As mentioned earlier Darragh Killeen was outstanding for the winners who also had excellent peformances from Ronan O’Callaghan at centre back, Michael Meaney, Jack Cahill, Daire Hill, Shane Culligan and Thomas Collins.

Diarmuid Comber, Josh Moloney, Oisin Sexton, Joe Campbell, Colin Considine and Jason Cushen were prominent for the Kilmurry Ibrickane side.

After the game Clare GAA chairman Kieran Keating presented the shield to the winning captain Luke Griffin.

Lissycasey: Thomas Collins (0-1); Evan O’Haire, Daire Hill, Jack Faughnan; Fionn Cotter (0-3) Ronan O’Callaghan, Michael Meaney; Jack Meere, Luke Griffin; Conor Meaney (0-1), Darragh Killeen (1-1), Jack Cahill; Shane Culligan (0-5), Colin O’Shea, Harry Keane (0-2);

Subs used: Darren Keane (0-1), Sam Wragg;

Kilmurry Ibrickane: Thomas Sexton; Matthew Campbell, Diarmuid Comber, Shay Gleeson; Conor Kearney, Josh Moloney, Cian Coughlan; Joe Caampbell (0-1), Ciaran Hanrahan; Oisin Sexton (0-4), Colin Considine, Byron Moloney; Cathal Talty (0-1), Jason Cushen (1-4), Cian McInerney.

Referee; John O’Connell (Cooraclare)

Related News

river fergus ennis
Plans to be lodged for apartment and retail projects in Ennis town centre
shannon refugees public meeting 28-01-23 dominic haugh 2
'Residents Group must represent entire population of Shannon on asylum seekers'
shannon refugees public meeting 28-01-23 elaine dickson 2
'I won't be bandied a racist' - Chair of Shannon Residents Group says town hasn't services for more refugees
ul hospital ennis
Ennis Hospital staff warn of delayed cancer diagnoses after five weeks of surgery cancellations

Subscribe for just €3 per month

If you’re here, you care about County Clare. So do we. Did you rely on us for Covid-19 updates, follow our election coverage, or visit The Clare Echo every week for breaking news and sport? The Clare Echo invests in local journalism and we want to safeguard its future in our county. By becoming a subscriber you are supporting what we do, will receive access to all our premium articles and a better experience, while helping us improve our offering to you. Subscribe to clareecho.ie and get the first six months for just €3 a month (less than 75c per week), and thereafter €8 per month. Cancel anytime, limited time offer. T&Cs Apply. www.clareecho.ie.

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks