No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Kilmihil full-back Megan Downes-Rigney. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

Both Banner Ladies and Kilmihil continued their winning run in this season Clare ladies football senior championship when they made it three wins from three outings at the weekend.

Ten points for Becky as Kilmihil march on

Kilmihil 1-11
Cooraclare 1-7
Venue: Kilmihil

A contribution of 0-10 from full forward Becky Mahon played a huge part in Kilmihil’s hard earned victory over neighbours Cooraclare in this round 3 game at the weekend.

Kilmihil went into the game without the injured Catriona Callinan and this led to a reshuffle of their line up.

Cooraclare were first to score but Kilmihil hit back and soon after took a lead they held to the finish.

Ellie O’Gorman, up in the attack for this tie was their goalscorer while Cooraclare’s goal came from Katie Cronin.

Kilmihil: Michaela Glynn; Cathy Keating, Megan Downes-Rigney, Rosie Currane; Zoe Ryan, Aoife McNamara, Kate Coughlan; Laura Egan, Dervla Higgins (0-1); Chloe Devitt, Ellie O’Gorman (1-0), Elaine O’Halloran; Sarah Browne, Becky Mahon (0-10, 7f), Edel McNamara.

Subs; Catriona O’Gorman for C. Devitt; Katie Mullin for Z. Ryan; Carol Browne for S. Browne; Katie O’Halloran for Kate Coughlan;

Cooraclare: Anne Marie Callinan; Aifric O’Neill, Laura Quinlivan, Saskia Morrissey; Sinead Lillis, Aisling Morrissey, Katie Lillis; Shauna O Gorman (0-4), Roisin Looney (0-1); Anna Mae Killeen, Nicola Keating, Megan Downes (0-1); Aimee Mc Namara (0-1), Katie Cronin (1-0), Zoe Downes.

Sub; Aoife Hehir for Zoe Downes

Aoibhin Ryan sparkles as Banner win again

Banner Ladies 2-13
St Josephs Doora/Barefield 2-5
Venue: Gurteen

Banner Ladies were made fight all the way for this victory over St Josephs Doora/Barefield. Having taken an early one point lead the title holders were rocked when Chloe Towey found the net for St. Josephs.

At the end of a well contested opening half the winners held a two point lead, 1-6 to 1-4, their goal coming from Aoibheann Malone The champions took a grip on proceedings in the second half with Aoibhin Ryan in sparkling form in a tie in which she contributed 0-5.

Alannah McNamara scored the winner’s second goal while St. Josephs’ second half goal came from Shauna Moloney.

Banner Ladies: Shannon O’Donovan; Siobhan McMahon, Claire Hehir, Sinead O’Keeffe; Laoise Ryan. Laurie Ryan, Eva O’Dea; Louise Henchy (0-1), Sarah Ni Ceallaigh; Shauna Enright, Grainne Nolan (0-2), Aoife Keane (0-2); Louise Woods 0-1), Aoibheann Malone (1-2), Aoibheann Ryan (0-5)

Subs: Alannah McNamara (1-0) for E. O’Dea; Sinead Power for C. Hehir; Leah Talty for A. Keane; Helena Hehir for A. Malone; Emily Cahill for S. Enright

St. Josephs Doora/Barefield; Caoifhlinn Ni Chonnaill, Sinead O’Connor, Megan O’Brien, Orla Hoey; Maedhbh O’Connor, Ciara Cahill , Hannah Doyle; Lyndsey Clarke, Siofra Ni Chonaill (0-1); Ashling Reidy, Roisin Cahill (0-1), Chloe Towey (1-2); Ciara Guilfoyle, Ashling Hannan, Amy Lenihan (0-1)

Subs: Kate Dillon for Maedhbh O’Connor; Shauna Moloney (1-0) for Ashling Hannan; Eimear Casey for Lyndsey Clarke; Emer Hanrahan for Amy Lenihan; Aoibhinn O’Loughlin for Ciara Guilfoyle; Emily Barry for Hannah Doyle

Strong first half finish gives KIB the upperhand

Kilmurry-Ibrickane 5-10
West Clare Gaels 2-11
Venue: Kilkee

Scoring 1-4 in the last five minutes of the opening half gave Kilmurry-Ibrickane a grip on this tie.

West Clare had dominated the opening quarter in a tie played at Kilkee and at the first water break they were 1-6 to 0-2 in front.

They had increased their lead by two points with five minutes remaining in the half but then Kilmurry struck with 1-4 and when the second half got underway, last year’s intermediate champions took the lead when Chloe Moloney converted a penalty.

They powered on from there and deservingly recorded their first win of the campaign.

Kilmurry Ibrickane: Katie McMahon; Jessica Doohan, Rebecca Doohan, Rachel Tubridy; Maeve Coughlan; Karen Coughlan, Emma Coughlan; Siofra O’Dea (1-0); Joanna Doohan (1-0); Maura Garvey; Sophie Daly (1-0), Chloe Moloney (1-3, 1-0 penalty, 0-2 f); Catlyn O’Connor; Karen Galvin (0-6, 2f), Amy Sexton;

Subs: Ellie Hanrahan (1-1) for K. Coughlan; Chloe O’CBrien for E. Coughlan; Roisin Montgomery for M. Garvey

West Clare Gaels: Emma McMahon; Sophie O’Callaghan, Sara Marrinan, Ciara McQuaid; Sorracha Griffin, Becky Madigan, Aine Moloney; Grainne Harvey (0-1), Siobhan Keane; Caoimhe Harvey (0-3), Roisin Brew (0-2), Colette Keniry; Aoife Lynch, Shauna Harvey(1-2), Fidelma Marrinan (1-3)

Subs: Nell Walsh for S. Griffin; Amber Thompson for S. O’Callaghan; Niamh Lardner for A. Lynch

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks