Latest News County Clare

Impressive scoring by Feakle hurlers at East Clare Golf Club

in Home/Sport by

*Shane McGrath. Photograph: Mark Hayes

Feakle hurlers got their senior hurling championship campaign off to a winning start on Saturday and for some of their players it was the completion of a very successful week on the sports front.

East Clare Golf Club:

Ray and Killian Bane and Shane McGrath has success on the golf course as they figured amongst the prize winners in singles competitions at East Clare.

Ray Bane (12) was the category 1 (0-12) winner of the men’s 18 hole stableford competition with 43 points. He had three to spare over Eoin Magill (3). In category 2 (12-18) the winner was Shane McGrath (15) with 44 points from Killian Bane (18) with 40 points. Category 3 (19 and over) was won by Tiernan Nijs (24) with 45 points from Ray McInerney (21) with 40 points.

The ladies 18 hole stableford competition was won by Marie Donnellan (29) with 42 points from Margaret Lynch (28) with 38 points with third spot filled by Brid Hayes (17) with 36 points. The ladies 14 hole team of three competition was won by Brid Hayes, Maureen Clune and Oonagh McElhinney with 53 points from Pauline Nugent, Celia Moloney and Mary Farrell with 50 points while third spot was filled by Catherine Murphy, Breda O’Loghlin, Helen Conway and Mary Collins with 49 points.


The qualifying round for the Simon O’Donnell cup, a competition for senior men at Woodstock, took place last week.

The first eight have qualified for matchplay. Dickie Pyne was the leading qualifier followed by Ollie McNamara, Paul Coote, Donie O’Shea, Martin White, John O’Donovan, Pat Barry and Matt Power.

In the club championship, Ryan Enright (14) was the winer with 40 points from Brian Cooney (8) with 38, Mark Sweeney (11) with 37, Patrick McElhinney (6) with 37, Matthew McGrath (8) with 37 and Jack Joyce (8) with 37. Brian Gilligan (scratch) won the gross with 37.

Cormac Walsh (4) was the winner of the monthly medal with 69 nett and he had a stroke to spare over Cathal Nagle (14) with Michael Nugent (12) in third place, also with 70 followed by Niall Reynolds (10) with 71 and Alan Markham (4) with 71. Kieran Cunnane (3) won the gross with 73.

The men’s AIB open at Kilrush last week was won by Pat J. Shannon (14) with 40 points from Michael F. Ryan (9) with a similar score. Harry Rose (16) was third with 39 followed by Tom Clancy (7), also with 39.

President Pat Shannon prize to the men was played for on Saturday when Mark Shannon (7) won with 40 points from Malcolm McCarthy (12) who also had 40 points. They were followed by Gerry Duffy (20) with 39, Tom Clancy (7) with 39, Pat Mulcahy (24) with 39 and Neil Browne (8) with 38/ Shane Lillis (2) won the gross with 37 while the category winners were Thomas Coffey (13) with 38, David Williams(16) with 37 and Brendan Carigg (31) with 36.

Tom Buckley (14) won the front nine with 21 points while Robert Kirwan (14) was the winner of the back 9 with 19 points. The visitor’s prize was won by Tim Killeen (8) with 37 points from Bernie Ryan (15) with 32 points.
Mary Bolton won the ladies prize with 25 points from Anne Hogan with 24. Lady captain Anne Marie Donnellan’s prize was played for last week when the winner was Marion Brennan (22) with 69 from Anne Coen (19) with 71. They were followed by Agnes Shannon (21) with 71, Fiona Kinsella (13) with 72, Margaret Clancy (14) with 72 and Mary McCarthy (28) with 72. Anne Brennan (12) won the gross with 72 while the nines were won by Mary Keating (30) with 32 and Mary Young (22) with 36. Theresa Lyons won the 9 hole competition from Loretta Browne while the visitor’s prize was won by Nicola O’Leary.

In the lady captain’s prize to the men John Stapleton (21) was the winner with 31 points from Stephen Fennell (2) who also scored 31 points.

The Malone Pharmacy ladies competition was won by Amy O’Shea (16) with 35 points from Anne Hogan (31) with 35, Agnes Shannon (21) with 35 and Peggy Mulqueen (29) with 33.


Kelly McClean was the winner of lady captain Karina Doyle’s prize at Dromoland last week with 38 points. Second placed Sarah Fox also had 38 points which was also the score returned by Cora O’Toole who was third and Miriam McCarthy who finished in fourth spot. They were followed by Jo Linnane with 35, Leslie O’Flynn with 34 and Mairead Toomey with 33. Shannon Hegarty won the gross with 31 points.

Other prize winners were Dorothy Brennan (past captain) with 33 points, Sandy Smyth (committee prize) with 33 points, Brenda Fitzgibbon (9 hole competition) with 18 points, Kitty Quinn (seniors 18 hole competition) with 29 points, Mary Galvin (seniors 9 hole competition), Shauna Moylan (front 9) with 19 points and Jean Colleran (back 9) with 19 points.

In the men’s 9 hole competition Jimmy McManus was the winner with 20 points from Mark Nolan with 19. Shannon Hegarty won the longest drive. Joanna Doyle won the visitor’s section with 18 points while Maureen McKeogh won the best dressed award.

In the men’s midweek 9 hole competition Gavin Reilly was the winner from Neil Slattery and Alan Henstock. All three scored 18 points.

Friday’s open singles was won by Ronan Burke with 42 points from Gerry Finn with a similar score with third spot filled by Clodagh Coughlan with 39 points while Aine Donegan won the gross with 38 points.

In the men’s weekend singles competition Eamonn Heaney won with 41 points from Brian McMahon with 40 and Thomas Halpin with 40. Sean Burns won the gross with 34 points.


Robert Deegan was in winning form at Gort last week capturing the honours in both singles competitions.

Playing off a handicap of 22 he won the 18 hole singles v par competition with a score of 9 up. Paul Brennan (8) was second with 7 up followed by Liam Byrne (20) with 5 up. Eanna Melville (4) won the gross with 3 down.

In Monday’s singles stableford Robert had a new handicap of 19 and still managed to capture the honours with an impressive 42 points from Gavin Lally (8) with 41 and Neil Harney (15) with 39. Jonathan Keane (scratch) won the gross with 37 points.

The ladies 18 hole singles stableford competition saw Shauna Burke (23) with 41 points with category 1, Ann Houlihan (34) with 30 points win category 2 while Patricia Callanan (45) won category 3 with 43 points.

Seamus Hayes is one of the most well-respected local sports journalists in the country. For close to fifty years, the Lissycasey native was Sports Editor of The Clare Champion. Subsequent to his departure from Barrack St, he began writing for publications including The Clare Echo, The Clare People and The Irish Daily Star. He has won multiple awards during his distinguished career including accolades for GAA, Community Games and Camogie coverage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top