Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

There were impressive performances from the junior boys team at Woodstock on Bank holiday Monday, when they faced Kilrush.

They secured a win in the junior foursomes earning them a date with Shannon on May 16.

Woodstock were pipped 3/2 in the singles with matches being lost on the 18th,19th and 20th. The Woodstock team members were Justin Mc Grath, Ronan Kilroy, Callum Hayes, Sean Crowe, Sam Montwill and Sean Kelly.

The members of the Kilrush team were Tom Clancy who won n the 19th, Rory Lillis who won on the 20th, Ruairi Young won won on the 18th, Evan McGibney and Dara O’Mahoney.

Kilrush Golf Club:

In the men’s singles competition at Kilrush at the weekend for the Pat Geaney prize, Robert Kirwan (14) was the winner with 4 points from Dominic Enright (23) with a similar score. Paul McGibney (20) was third with 39 points.

Last week the ladies played for the Anchor Crafts prize and the winner was Ailish Lorigan (18) with 32 points from Mary G Nolan (22) who had a similar score.

The winners of the mixed scraamble on Good Friday were Brian Scanlan, Loretta Maher, Mary and Michael Bolton with 33 from Noel Kilkenny, Ailish Lorigan and Niall Pilkington with 37. In third spot with 38 were Terry O’Hare, John and Margaret Hehir.

Ennis Golf Club:

The weekly ladies singles at Ennis was won by Della Burns (19) from Ethna Murphy (31). In third spot was Carmel Verling (23) followed by Joan Cullinan Coote  (37) and Attracta Williams (33).

The 9 hole stableford competition was won by Ann Kelly (14) wth 21 points from Nuala D’Auria (17) with 20 points and Mary Woulfe (15) with 20 points.

The Easter week singles was won by Jean Moloney (28) with 38 points from Ethna Murphy (21) with 37 points. In third spot with 35 points was Ann Casey (28) followed by Betty 0’Reilly (36) with 35 points.

The winner of the 9 hole competition was Bridie Keane (17) with 20 points from Mary Woulfe (15) with 18 points with third spot filled by Liz Kelly (22) with 18 points.

The winners of the senior ladies outing held onApril 5 were Mary McMahon, Margaret McEnery and Nuala D’Auria with 48.8 points from Bernie Brooks, Phil Butler and Carmel Verling with 49 1/4 points.

Lasst week’s senior ladies competition was won by Claire Kennelly, Threase Lillis and Mary Lenihan with 51.5 points from Mary Woulfe, Pat Lacey and Carmel Verling with 52.05 with third spot filled by Helen Hartnett, Jean Moloney and Nuala D’Auria with 52.25.

Doonbeg Golf Club:

In the weekly singles at Doonbeg Links last week, Donnacda Nagle (6) produced an excellent 3 under par round of 69 for 45 points.

East Clare Golf Club:

The ladies 18 hole stableford golfer of the year competition at East Clare last week was won by Loretto O Donnell with 33 points, winning on a count back from Noreen Skehan who also returned 33 points.

In the ladies Wednesday morning competition the winning team, with 39 points, comprised Marie Donnellan, Tricia Kerr and Mary Bugler.

In the men’s 18 hole singles stableford competition the winner was Tim Walsh with 38 points from Michael Hayes with a similar score with third spot filled by Gerry Nugent with 37 points.

Last week’s senior men’s competition was won by the team of Seamus Mason, Terry Coughlan and Pat Duggan from Ger Shortt, Tony McNulty and Nick Ryan with thirs spot filled by John Nihill, Kevin Grimes and Steve Symes.

Woodstock Golf Club:

The weekly Woodstock seniors outing on Tuesday was won by Paddy Meehan, Gerry O’Malley, Pat and Eugene Quinn with 45 points

Dromoland Golf Club:

Vinny Derham was the winner of the Easter weekend stableford competition at Dromoland with 43 points. Mark Taylor was second with 42 points followed by Darren Malone with 41 and Philip Alldritt, also with 41. Diarmuid O’Connor won the gross wth 33 points.

In the senior men’s section Barry Pavitt won category A from Michael Bennett witsh Michael Finn in third spot.

The category B winner was George O’Carroll from Pat McGrath with Ger Ryan in third position.

Gort Golf Club:

The Monday open singles at Gort last week was won by Declan O’Halloran (12) with 38 points. Conor Shields (9) won category A with 38 points. Noal Hoarty (15) was the winner of category 2 with 35 points while category 3 was won by Naoto Nishio (23) with 38 points. Ciaran Coughlan (7) won the gross with 30 points.

Clarecaste Daycare Centre

Close to 50 teams competed in the recent golf classic fundraiser for the Clarecastle Day Care Centre, held at Woodstock Golf Club. Team Stephen Murphy were the overall winners, with Team Pat O’Brien second, Team John Mc Carthy third, Team Mike Liddy fourth and Team Declan Russell fifth.

Frank Garrihy’s team won the Special Category Prize (non GUI teams), Dylan Browne won the longest drive and Kevin Cleary was the winner of the nearest the pin prize. The Board, Management and Staff of the Centre have expressed their gratitude to all the participating teams, sponsors, donors and, in particular, Anne Marie Russell and Woodstock Golf Club for their support.

Lissycasey GAA:

Lissycasey GAA held a very successful classic at Ennis on Friday and Saturday last. The winning score was 96 points and it was returned by the team of Michael and Fergus O’Brien, Tom and Tomas Prendeville

At the presentation of prizes on Sunday evening at Fanny O’Deas the winners were presented with their prize of 2 nights B and B at the Helm in Westport with dinner and a round of golf.

Second prize was won by the team of Michael O’Sullivan, Peter Quinn, Don Ryan and Seamus Bowe with 94 points. They were followed by Matt Gilroy and his team of Keith Geehin, Fergus Marrgin and Frank Conway with 89 points.

In fourth spot with 87 points were Robert McMahon, Mike Donnelly, Martin and Declan Coote with fifth spot filled by Leroy Crowe, Ian Murphy, Shauna Moylan and Claire B with 86 points. Podge Collins won nearst the pin while the long drive was won by Mike Whelan and Fiona Landy

Cratloe GAA:

The winning score in the Cratloe GAA golf classic at Shannon on Friday was 119 points which was returned by Keith Fehilly, Andy Fahy. John Ryan and Brian Wilker. Second with 116 points were Pauline and Maeve Danaher, Libby Hickey and Mary O’Donoghue followed by Pat and Donagh Keogh, Kieran and Niamh McDermott also with 116 points.

In fourth spot wIth a similar score were David, Brian and Diarmuid McGrath and Dan Minogue followed by Matt and Tim Danaher, Richard Crowe and Gerry McManus with 113 points.

The winners in the non GUI section were Conor Hallisey, Jamie Costigan, Sean Gallagher and David O’Brien with 111 points from Jack McInerney, Rian Considine, Kyle Neylon and Emmet Costigan with 108 points.

Bridget Kirwan won the ladies long drive while the men’s equivalent was won by Ally McMillan. Joe McGrath won the award for nearest the pin.

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks