A review will be undertaken to determine if history should be an option subject for the Junior Certificate.

At the Fine Gael Ard Fheis over the weekend, Minister for Education and Skills, Joe McHugh announced he has committed to a review of the decision to remove it as a mandatory subject. “It’s already recognised that history is generally the fifth most popular subject in the Junior Certificate examination. That shows the demand is there both from the teachers who attract students to the subject through their own love and passion for education and learning and by engaging the natural curiosity of students.”

His predecessor, Richard Bruton earlier this year dropped history as a compulsory area of study from the Junior Cert curriculum which led to widespread criticism. President Michael D. Higgins and Fianna Fáil leader, Micheál Martin were among those who expressed concern with the decision.

Clare Fine Gael Senator Martin Conway has welcomed the confirmation that a review is to be undertaken. “It saddens me to think that our young people will not have studied major events such as the Great Famine in the 1840s, the Land League, the 1916 Rising, the two world wars, the devastating impact of fascism in the mid-1900s, the economic war and the industrial revolution. It is my view every citizen should have a working knowledge of these historic events”.

“History teaches us about the past so that we don’t make the same mistakes and it is my firm belief that the decision to make it an optional subject was a mistake and it is only right that the review takes place to rectify it,” Conway concluded.

Related News

ennis courthouse tent 24-02-21 3
Judge imposes suspended prison term on Mullagh 'family man' for child porn offences
shannon airport 1
Rail link to Shannon Airport must be a priority as Cabinet sign off on €30bn investment strategy
joe carey newmarket on fergus community forum 02-12-19 22
Announcement imminent on political future of Joe Carey
DSC01362 copy
John-Joe setting a high Banner with support for Clare
Latest News
ennis courthouse tent 24-02-21 3
Judge imposes suspended prison term on Mullagh 'family man' for child porn offences
paul flanagan 2
Flanagan backing up the Banner belief
shannon airport 1
Rail link to Shannon Airport must be a priority as Cabinet sign off on €30bn investment strategy
clare v kilkenny 06-07-24 brian lohan 4
Lohan behold - 'his character is moulded within the team'
clare v cork 24-07-21 4 patrick horgan
Horgan chasing shot at history
Premium
joe carey newmarket on fergus community forum 02-12-19 22
Announcement imminent on political future of Joe Carey
clare v cork 28-04-24 niall o'leary mark rodgers 1
The Water Break: Start as you mean to go on to decide whether Clare or Cork are All-Ireland champions
gerard gunning
Ennis plumber pleads guilty to careless driving causing death of Broadford GAA coach
clare v tipperary 26-05-24 shane o'donnell 3
Everything has changed since 2013 for star man O'Donnell
donie fitzpatrick medal
Stories behind medals of Clare's 1914 heroes captivates attention 110 years on

Subscribe for just €3 per month

If you’re here, you care about County Clare. So do we. Did you rely on us for Covid-19 updates, follow our election coverage, or visit The Clare Echo every week for breaking news and sport? The Clare Echo invests in local journalism and we want to safeguard its future in our county. By becoming a subscriber you are supporting what we do, will receive access to all our premium articles and a better experience, while helping us improve our offering to you. Subscribe to clareecho.ie and get the first six months for just €3 a month (less than 75c per week), and thereafter €8 per month. Cancel anytime, limited time offer. T&Cs Apply. www.clareecho.ie.

Subscribe for just €3 per month

If you’re here, you care about County Clare. So do we. Did you rely on us for Covid-19 updates, follow our election coverage, or visit The Clare Echo every week for breaking news and sport? The Clare Echo invests in local journalism and we want to safeguard its future in our county. By becoming a subscriber you are supporting what we do, will receive access to all our premium articles and a better experience, while helping us improve our offering to you. Subscribe to clareecho.ie and get the first six months for just €3 a month (less than 75c per week), and thereafter €8 per month. Cancel anytime, limited time offer. T&Cs Apply. www.clareecho.ie.

Scroll to Top