Latest News County Clare

Harnett return a timely boost for Clare

in Home/Sport by

*Kevin Harnett. Photograph: Raymond O’Mahony

Kevin Harnett has regained his place on the Clare senior football team just over a month after breaking a bone in his cheek.

Colm Collins had made just one change to the Banner side that travel to Portlaoise on Sunday. Meelick’s Harnett comes in for the Conall Ó hÁiniféin who was forced off with a shoulder injury in their one point win over Westmeath last weekend.

A further boost sees former minor captain, Dermot Coughlan included in the championship squad for the first time this year. The Kilmurry Ibrickane forward underwent surgery on a broken ankle at the beginning of February having suffered the injury in the opening minute of the Allianz National League draw with Armagh.

Should Clare overcome Meath in O’Moore Park, they will qualify for the Super 8s for the first time and will be paired alongside Donegal, Kerry and the winners of Galway v Mayo.

Meath boss Andy McEntee has also named his starting fifteen which includes twelve players that started in the Royal County’s six point League win over Clare played in Cusack Park on St Patrick’s Day.

1: Stephen Ryan (Kilrush Shamrocks)
2: Dean Ryan (Na Fianna)
3: Cillian Brennan (Clondegad)
4: Gordon Kelly (St Josephs Miltown)
5: Kevin Harnett (Meelick)
6: Aaron Fitzgerald (Éire Óg)
7: Sean Collins (Cratloe)
8: Gary Brennan (Clondegad)
9: Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)
10: Sean O’Donoghue (Cooraclare)
11: Eoin Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
12: Jamie Malone (Corofin)
13: Gavin Cooney (Éire Óg)
14: David Tubridy (Doonbeg)
15: Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)

1: Andrew Colgan (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)
2: Seamus Lavin (St Peter’s Dunboyne)
3: Conor McGill (Rathoath)
4: Shane Gallagher (Sarsfields Ballerin)
5: Donal Keogan (Rathkenny)
6: Padraic Harnan (Moynalvey)
7: Gavin McCoy (St Peter’s Dunboyne)
8: Bryan Menton (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)
9: Shane McEntee (St Peter’s Dunboyne)
10: Ben Brennan (St Colmcilles)
11: Bryan McMahon (Rathoath)
12: Graham Reilly (St Colmcilles)
13: Cillian O’Sullivan (Moynalvey)
14: Michael Newman (Kilmainham)
15: James Conlon (St Colmcilles)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top