Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Danny Russell celebrates his goal. Photograph: Joe Buckley

In a game in which the lead changed hands on a number of occasions, Éire Óg finished strongly to book a place in the quarter finals of the senior hurling championship by defeating Feakle at Shannon on Saturday.

Éire Óg 2-16
Feakle 0-19
Venue: Shannon

Two goals from Danny Russell proved crucial in this tie while David Reidy’s hook on Shane McGrath as he was about to strike for goal shortly before half time was another key moment.

Shortly after this Eibher Quilligan made a great save for the East Clare side who went to the break with a two point advantage, 0-13 to 1-8.

Just before half time, Éire Óg were dealt a big blow when Shane O’Donnell was forced out of the game due to injury and he was replaced by Gavin Cooney who went on to cause problems for the Feakle defence.

The third quarter was evenly fought but Éire Óg got what proved to be the crucial score in the final quarter when their top scorer, Danny Russell struck for his and the team’s second goal. It proved to be the score which separated the sides at the final whistle

Russell delivered another key performance for the town side and he finished with 2-9 to his credit. Feakle’s chief marksman was, once again, Shane McGrath who landed 0-12 of their tally.

Having claimed a first Clare Cup title in 33 years before the championship, Feakle will be bitterly disappointed not to have advanced to the knockout stages. In comparison, Éire Óg are getting stronger with each outing and have recovered well following their first round defeat to Newmarket-on-Fergus, the Matt Shannon managed side will certainly fancy their chances in four weeks time.

Scorers Éire Óg: Danny Russell (2-9, 7f, 1’65), Darren O’Brien (0-2); Jarlath Collins, Marc O’Donnell, David McNamara, Oran Cahill, Nathan Murray (0-1) each

Scorers Feakle: Shane McGrath (0-12, 11f); Ger Hanrahan, Stephen Conway (0-2) each; Fiachra Donnellan, Enda Noonan, Killian Bane (0-1) each

Éire Óg;
1: Philip Walsh

2: Jarlath Collins
3: Ciaran Russell
17: Niall McMahon

5: Nathan Murray
6: Aaron Fitgerald
7: Liam Corry

8: Tom Downes
11: David Reidy

13: Kevin Brennan
15: Shane O’Donnell
10: David McNamara

12: Oran Cahill
14: Danny Russell
9: Darren O’Brien

18: Gavin Cooney for S. O’Donnell (inj)
20: Marc O’Donnell for Downes
4: Aidan McGrath for Brennan

1: Eibhear Quilligan

19: Adam Hogan
3: Evan McMahon
4: James Noonan

2: Ger Hanrahan
5: Conn Smyth
6: Eoin Tuohy

8: Killian Bane
10: Shane McGrath

7: Oisin Clune
17: Fiachra Donnellan
12: Enda Noonan

13: Raymond Bane
14: Oisin Donnellan
15: Stephen Conway

18: Eric Conway for Hanrahan
11: Gary Guilfoyle for F. Donnellan
23: Frankie O’Grady for Eric Conway

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks