No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Niall Gilligan. Photograph: John Mangan

Niall Gilligan was unsuccessful in his bid to become a Munster Council delegate while Simon Moroney defeated his ex colleague Robert Frost in a vote to be elected Central Council delegate.

Three votes took place at Clare GAA’s annual convention at The Auburn Lodge on Thursday. The possibility of one for the post of Vice Chairman did not occur as Neil O’Brien and John Fawl withdrew their nominations leaving incumbent PJ McGuane in the role. Rosaleen Monahan also stood aside having been put forward as Coaching & Games Officer allowing Sean O’Halloran automatic appointment.

Having served the maximum five years, John Fawl was unable to remain on as Central Council delegate. McGuane was nominated for the role but opted not to contest leaving a straight battle between former Munster GAA CEO Simon Moroney and ex Munster GAA Chairman Robert Frost. Moroney was announced as the successful candidate following a vote by club delegates and county officials.

Clare Echo Planning
Robert Frost. Photograph: John Mangan

Long-serving officer, PJ Kelly called time on over two and a half decades on the County Executive. The Inagh/Kilnamona man’s term as Munster Council delegate had concluded. Ger Hickey and Tony Brohan informed the meeting they were not seeking election despite nomination. This left Niall Gilligan, Bernard Keane, John Fawl and incumbent Kieran Keating in the ring for two positions, for which Keating and Fawl were the victors.

For the three delegate spots at Congress, Kieran Keating, Michael O’Connor and Ger Hickey were chosen ahead of Michael Gallagher and Anne Hayes.

Exact details on the votes for each candidate were not outlined. The appointed tellers of Kieran O’Donnell (Crusheen), Michael O’Neill (Ballyea) and Rosaleen Monaghan (Tubber) were supervised by Michael McNamara.

Clare GAA Officers 2020
President: Pádraic Mac Mathúna (Éire Óg)
Chairman: Joe Cooney (O’Callaghans Mills
Vice Chairman: PJ McGuane (Cooraclare)
Secretary: Pat Fitzgerald (Sixmilebridge)
Asst Secretary: Anne Hayes (Lissycasey)
Treasurer: Michael Gallagher (Doonbeg)
Asst Treasurer: Tony Brohan (Éire Óg)
PRO: Michael O’Connor (Crusheen)
Irish & Cultural Officer: Flan O’Reilly (Cratloe)
Coaching & Games Officer: Sean O’Halloran (Bodyke)
Central Council Delegate: Simon Moroney (Éire Óg)
Munster Council Delegate: Kieran Keating (Naomh Eoin)
Munster Council Delegate: John Fawl (Ennistymon)
Congress Delegate: Kieran Keating (Naomh Eoin)
Congress Delegate: Ger Hickey (Feakle)
Congress Delegate: Michael O’Connor (Crusheen)
Munster Convention Delegate: Michael Gallagher (Doonbeg)
Munster Convention Delegate: Neil O’Brien (O’Callaghans Mills)
Munster Convention Delegate: Sean Chambers (Cooraclare)
Munster Convention Delegate: Dessie Farrell (Coolmeen)

Related News

Scroll to Top