Latest News County Clare

Galvin & Meehan selected on minor team of the year

in Home/Sport by

*Shane Meehan. Photograph: Chris Copley

Clare minor hurlers Shane Meehan and Cian Galvin have been selected on the Electric Ireland Minor Star Awards Hurling Team of the Year.

Clarecastle’s Galvin was captain of the Fergal Lynch managed side that reached the All-Ireland quarter-final play off having lost out in the Munster final to Limerick. Cian operated as a sweeper for the bulk of the campaign but still contributed to the scoreboard accumulating a tally of 1-09 in the provincial and All-Ireland campaign. He was chosen at centre back on the team of the year.

For the second year in a row, Shane Meehan of the Banner club lit up the minor championship. The pacy attacker combined his hurling commitments with his role as minor football captain. He finished the year with 1-30 to his name on the hurling field. Shane was selected at corner forward.

It has yet to be confirmed if Lynch will seek a second year in charge of the minor panel, his football counterpart Dermot Coughlan will remain in his post. The ex Clare attacker was joined on his management team by Jimmy Meagher, Francis Browne and Tom Downes. They suffered four defeats, two to Limerick and one each to Galway and Kilkenny, they along with Clare were the last remaining teams in the hunt for the Irish Press Cup.

Six representatives from All-Ireland winners Galway are included in the side, three each from beaten finalists Kilkenny, three from Munster champions Limerick, one from Wexford plus Meehan and Galvin.

Cian Galvin tries to hook Tony Cahill. Photograph: Martin Connolly

Among those responsible for selecting the team were former Waterford boss Derek McGrath and retired Galway dual star, Alan Kerins. The panel will also select an overall Hurling Player of the Year whose name will be announced at the 2019 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards event at Croke Park on September 28th.

2019 Electric Ireland Hurling Team of the Year

1: Aidan Tallis – Kilkenny (Lisdowney)
2: Christy Brennan – Galway (Clarinbridge)
3: Eoin Lawless – Galway (St. Mary’s, Athenry)
4: Ronan Lyons – Limerick (Monaleen)
5: Ian McGlynn – Galway (Kilconieron)
6: Cian Galvin – Clare (Clarecastle)
7: Peter McDonald – Kilkenny (Thomastown)
8: Alex Connaire – Galway (Sarsfields)
9: Patrick Kirby – Limerick (Patrickswell)
10: Greg Thomas – Galway (Ballygar)
11: Seán McDonagh – Galway (Mountbellew – Moylough)
12: Cathal O’Neill – Limerick (Crecora-Manister)
13: Billy Drennan – Kilkenny (Galmoy)
14: AJ Redmond – Wexford (Rathnure)
15: Shane Meehan – Clare (The Banner)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top