No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Jims roofing 2008

No account yet? Register

Nominations for positions on the Executive of Clare GAA closed on Monday.

Speculation continues as to how many names will be in the hat when it comes to voting for the posts of Chairman, Vice Chairman and Munster Council delegates on the executive of Clare GAA.

Four nominees were submitted for the role of Chairman when nominations closed on Monday. There are also four men in the running to become Vice Chairman with three put forward for the two Munster Council posts.

Those nominated to succeed Joe Cooney as chairman are current vice chairman P.J. McGuane from Cooraclare, ex Chairman Robert Frost from O’Callaghans Mills, sitting PRO Michael from Crusheen where he is club chairman and Cratloe’s Jack Chaplin.

Chaplin, an unsuccessful candidate for the role of vice chairman a few years ago, hasn’t yet made a decision as to whether or not he will seek election. “I will speak to club officials and make a decision over the next few days”, he told The Clare Echo.

Crusheen’s O’Connor is also weighing up his options. “I have yet to make a decision as to whether or not I will seek election but I am thankful to the clubs that have nominated me”

Former Clare and Munster Council chairman Frost repeated this week that he has yet to decide whether or not to allow his name go forward. “There is a deadline by which candidates must declare whether or not they will be allowing their names go forward and I will make a decision before then”, he said.

McGuane is the only one of the four nominees who has confirmed that he is a candidate for the position

The four candidates for the position of vice chairman which is being vacated by P.J. McGuane who has completed his term in that role are Kieran Keating (Naomh Eoin). Neil O’Brien (O’Callaghans Mills), Niall Romer (Kilmaley) and Michael Maher (Kilmaley).

Keating completes his term as Munster Council delegate at the upcoming convention. Neil O’Brien is the current Bord na nOg hurling chairman. Romer is the current Kilmaley club delegate to the board while he was joint manager of the Kilmaley senior hurlers last season with Kieran O’Neill. Maher managed Kilmaley to their first Clare senior hurling championship title back in 1985 and is a member of the board’s CCC and in recent years has filled the role of groundsman at Cusack Park and Caherlohan.

All four have confirmed that they will be seeking election to the position.

The upcoming convention will elect two delegates to represent the county at Munster Council. Nominated for these positions are John Fawl (Ennistymon), Bernard Keane (St. Josephs Doora/Barefield) and Niall Gilligan (Sixmilebridge).

Fawl is outgoing having been elected to the position last year. Kieran Keating has completed his term on the provincial body which has led to the vacancy. Former board treasurer Bernard Keane was narrowly defeated for this position last year while the third candidate is Sixmilebridge’s Niall Gilligan was also an unsuccessful candidate last year.

Padraig MacMathuna’s term as president of Clare GAA comes to an end at Convention and there are two nominees for the post. They are former board vice chairman Michael Lee from Tubber and former Clare hurler Naoise Jordan from Whitegate.

The remaining officers on the Clare GAA executive will be returned for an other term.

Voting forms are expected to be distributed to the clubs next week. The Clare GAA Convention will take place, online, on Tuesday December 15.

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

* indicates required

Related News

Scroll to Top