No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*David Fitzgerald returns to the Clare team. Photograph: Jim Campbell

Brian Lohan has made three changes so far to the Clare senior hurling team that will take on Wexford this Sunday in Cusack Park.

Further alterations to the starting fifteen are likely as Éire Óg duo David Reidy (calf) and Shane O’Donnell (hamstring) both picked up injuries at Friday evening’s training session. The pair who impressed during Clare’s surprise loss to Antrim last weekend were originally included in the team to play Davy Fitzgerald’s Wexford.

Due to their sudden injuries, their replacements on the team have yet to be decided.

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

* indicates required

Both Colm Galvin and David McInerney, survivors from Clare’s All-Ireland winning side from 2013 are not included in the named side as they recover from respective injuries.

All Star nominee Rory Hayes returns to the starting fold in place of the injured Paul Flanagan while both Paddy Donnellan and Cian Galvin exit the team with Liam Corry and David Fitzgerald taking their spots.

Fitzgerald is named at midfield where he will partner Tony Kelly. Captain John Conlon continues at centre back alongside Diarmuid Ryan and Aidan McCarthy, the Inagh/Kilnamona clubman played the second half of the Antrim game in the full forward line.

Shane Meehan is included in the Clare substitutes for the first time as is defender Cian Nolan. Ian Galvin of Clonlara, Scariff’s Mark Rodgers and Domhnall McMahon of Tubber will be vying to claim the spots vacated by Reidy and O’Donnell.

Clare Senior Hurling Team v Wexford:
1: Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle)

2: Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones)
3: Conor Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
4: Liam Corry (Éire Óg)

5: Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe)
6: John Conlon (Clonlara)
7: Aidan McCarthy (Inagh/Kilnamona)

8: David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona)
9: Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

10: Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
11: TBC
12: Colin Guilfoyle (Newmarket-on-Fergus)

13: Ryan Taylor (Clooney/Quin)
14: Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)
15: TBC

16: Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)
17: Aaron Fitzgerald (Éire Óg)
18: Shane Meehan (Banner)
19: Paidí Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge)
20: Jack Browne (Ballyea)
21: Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)
22: Domhnall McMahon (Tubber)
23: Mark Rodgers (Scariff)
24: Cian Nolan (Smith O’Briens)
25: Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
26: Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona


Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

* indicates required

Related News

Scroll to Top