Latest News County Clare

First defeat for Clare minors as O’Neill leads Limerick to victory

in Home/Sport by

*Cian Galvin in action for the Clare minors vs Tipperary. Photograph: Martin Connolly

Clare’s minor hurlers have suffered their first defeat of the 2019 Munster championship at the hands of Limerick who recorded their first win of the campaign.

Limerick 0-16
Clare 0-13
Venue: LIT Gaelic Grounds

Undoubtedly Clare’s toughest outing of the minor championship proved to be the one in which they experienced defeat for the first time. Limerick meanwhile remain unbeaten following draws against Cork and Waterford.

Having amassed 0-17 and 2-13 in their two wins, Clare’s return of 0-13 was their lowest to date, this did not come to a lack of chances however as they hit eleven wides over the hour.

Limerick started the better and held a 0-07 0-03 advantage with twenty five minutes on the clock. The visitors finished well with the final three scores of the half via Keith Smyth, Shane Meehan and Cormac Murphy to trail by the minimum at half-time.

Within one minute of the restart, they were on level terms thanks to Meehan and took the lead two minutes after via Smyth. However four points in succession would put Limerick back in the driving seat and gave them a foothold of the game they were not going to loosen.

Wides would hinder Clare’s chances along with their struggles in the air from Limerick puckouts, Cathal O’Neill in particular was a thorn in their side for the majority of the contest.

This defeat is a small setback for Fergal Lynch’s side but a win next weekend at home to Cork would secure their place in the Munster Final. Limerick’s chances or progressing are still alive following the result and they must now overcome Tipperary in Thurles.

Shane Meehan, Jarlath Collins and Adam Hogan did best for Clare. Diarmuid Mullins’ Limerick had strong showings from O’Neill, Adam Murrihy and Michael Keane.

Scorers Limerick: C O’Neill (0-07 5f), A Murrihy (0-03), A English (0-02), P Reale (0-01), A O’Connor (0-01), L Lynch (0-01), P Kirby (0-01)

Scorers Clare: K Smyth (0-04 4f), S Meehan (0-04), C Murphy (0-02), C Hegarty (0-01), D Downes (0-01), C Galvin (0-01)

1: Jack Franklin (Kilteely/Dromkeen)
2: Ronan Lyons (Monaleen)
3: Michael Keane (Adare)
4: Fergal O’Connor (Effin)
5: Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock)
6: Ethan Hurley (Newcastle West)
8: Adam Murrihy (Ahane)
21: Cian Casey (Ahane)
12: Cathal O’Neill (Crecora Manister)
10: Patrick Reale (Knockainey)
11: Diarmuid Hegarty (St Patricks)
13: Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown)
14: Adam English (Doon)
24: Liam Lynch (Mungret St Pauls)

23: Eddie Stokes (Doon) for Hegarty (HT)
15: Patrick O’Donovan (Effin) for Reale (41)
22: Conor Hanley Clarke (Kilmallock) for Lynch (58)

1: Aaron Shanahan (Tulla)
4: Cillian McGroary (Corofin)
3: Adam Hogan (Feakle)
2: Storm Devanney (Sixmilebridge)
5: Jarlath Collins (Éire Óg)
6: Colm O’Meara (Clonlara)
7: Tony Butler (St Josephs Doora/Barefield)
8: Oisin Clune (Feakle)
13: Conner Hegarty (Inagh/Kilnamona)
24: Cormac Murphy (O’Callaghans Mills)
11: Cian Galvin (Clarecastle)
12: Oisin O’Donnell (Crusheen)
15: Keith Smyth (Killanena)
14: Diarmaid Cahill (Corofin)
10: Shane Meehan (Banner)

21: Sean Ronan (Kilmaley) for Cahill (39)
23: Dylan Downes (Sixmilebridge) for O’Donnell (42)
9: Killian O’Connor (Corofin) for Murphy (54)
22: Shane Punch (Ruan) for Smyth (57)

Referee: Mark Maher (Cork)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top