No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

TJ Scanlan was named as Ennis Golf Club’s golfer of the year while Aeneas O’Connor claimed the senior men’s captain’s prize in Kilrush.

Ennis Golf Club:

The Masters final was played at Ennis over the weekend and resulted in victory for Joe Carmody (16) with 40 points. He had two to spare over T.J. Scanlan (9) with Tony Flynn (15) in third spot with 37 followed by Barry Lee (17) with 36, William Donnellan (24) with 35, Sean Rynne (13) with 35, Flan Downes (14) with 35, Noel Kenny (12) with 35 and Barry Lynch (18) with 34. Ronan Herbert (6) won the gross with 31. The golfer of the year award was won by T. J. Scanlan.

Senior captain Brian Considine’s prize was played for at Ennis last Thursday when Gary Cuningham (14) captured the honours with 41 points from Tom Greene (21) who had a similar score.

Clare Echo Planning

They were followed by Noel Pilkington (17) with 40 points, John Nevin (16) with 40 points, Tony Kehoe (16) with 39 points, Tony McInerney (14) with 38 points, Gerard Harnett (15) with 37, John Keane (13) with 37, Ronnie Guinnane (17) with 37, Pat Murphy (9) with 37, Liam Pyne (7) with 36, Matt Flynn (19) with 35, John Lillis (16) with 35, Gerry Daly (16) with 35, Tim Scanlon (20) with 35, Pat P. McInerney (14) with 35 and Liam McCannon (14) with 35.

Mike Butler won the 9 hole competition with 18 points from Kevin O’Connor with 15 points. The nearest the pin prize was won by Jim O’Connor.

Last week’s Tuesday fourball at Ennis was won by Mike Irwin and Leo Herbert with 34 points. They had one to spare over Johnny Kearse and Tony McInerney. In third spot, also with 33 points, were John Kelly and P.J. Hehir followed by Pat Murphy and Ronnie Guinnane with 32.

Andrew Whelan (5) won the Friday open singles with 39 points from Andrew McGloin (12) with 39, Gerry Daly (16) with 39 and Oisin Kennelly (13) from Woodstock with 37. Darragh T. Murphy (7) won the gross with 78.

East Clare Golf Club:

Mary Mannion’s president’s prize was played for at East Clare last week. The men’s competition was an 18 hole v par event off the white tees and was won by Aaron O’Brien (10) with 2 up from James McNamara (5) on 1 up and Willie Hayes (21) also on 1 up.

The ladies competition took the format of an 18 hole stableford event which was won by Maureen Clune (34) with 37 points from Margaret Lynch (26) with 35 points and Heather Cullen (22) with 34 points.

Last Thursday’s open day competition was won by Kevin O’Flanagan(12) from Castlettroy with 41 points. Men’s and ladies open singles continue each Thursday

Kilrush Golf Club:

The senior men’s captain’s (Finbarr McMahon) prize was played for at Kilrush last week when Aeneas O’Connor (18) emerged with the honours with 41 points. John Robinson (22) was second with 40 points followed by Stephen Fennell (21) with 39 points, Michael J. McNamara (16) with 38 points, Harry Rose (15) with 38 points and John McNeilis (17) with 37 points.

In the captain’s plate for men the winner was Bryan J. Hayes (16) with 45 points from Michael Leonard (26) with 41 points, Jim Young Senior (8) with 40 points and David Abbott (18) with 39 points. The category winners were Thomas Coffey (12) with 37 points, Cian O’Mahony (16) with 39 points and Nevan Prendeville (19) with 39 points.

Last week’s ladies competition was won by Geraldine Burke (17) with 37 points from Anne Brennan (12) with 34 and Mary Keating (30) with 34.

Gort Golf Club:

Last weekend’s men’s competition at Gort was an 18 hole singles competition which was won by Trevor Cummins (7) with 41 points from Liam Perkins (16) with 38 points and Liam Byrne (18) with 38 points. Eanna Melville (4) won the gross with 29 points.
In the ladies competition, Joan Fogarty (19) won with 43 points from Marcella Killeen (26) with 40 points and Charlotte Kelly (34) with 39 points. Siobhan O’Connor (12) won the gross with 25 points.

Dromoland Golf Club:

The 9 hole mid week competition at Dromoland was won by Darragh O’Shea with 23 points from Darren Reilly with 22 and Seamus Lawlor with 20.

Seamus Cusack won the men’s 18 hole stableford competition with 44 points from Ed Crowe with 41 and Colm Hayes with 40. Jason O’Leary won the gross with 39 while the category for those with handicaps of 18 and over was won by Brian Maloney with 39 points.

The Nozomi ladies invitational competition was won by Michelle McCarthy and Lisa McKnight with 47 points from Mairead Toomey and Claire Bracken with 46 points with third spot filled by Tina Devitt and Katrina O’Neill with 43 points.

Niamh McDermott won the autumn major competition with 40 points from Katrina O’Neill on 39, Kelly Maclean on 36 and Breige Scanlon on 35. Ellie Corgreave won the gross with 29 points. The nines were won by Shauna Moylan with 18 and Cora O’Toole with 21 while the 9 hole competition winner was Julie Fitzgerald with 15.

Spanish Point chase Munster glory:

Fermoy golf club will host the semi-finals and final of the AIG Munster junior cup and Pierce Purcell shield competitions on Saturday week, September 26.

Spanish Point will take on either Cahir Park or Faithlegg in the Pierce Purcell semi-final with the first match starting at 8.45. The Cahir Park v Faithlegg match wasn’t finished at the weekend due to failing light. It will conclude this week. In the other semi-final East Cork will take on Kenmare, also on Saturday morning week. The final will take place in the afternoon.

Shannon into North Munster final:

Shannon have qualified for the North Munster final in the Jimmy Bruen shield thanks to a victory over Kilrush in the Clare area final last week.

The North Munster final will take place this Sunday, September 20, at Woodstock.

The Shannon pairings in the win over Kilrush last week were Keith Buckley and Adrian Carew; Murty O’Donoghue and Adam McMahon; P.J. Moroney and James Corry; John O’Connell and Kieran Kirby; Joe Finlay and Pat McHugh.

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

* indicates required

Related News

Scroll to Top