No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Philip Talty was captain of the Éire Óg side. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

SEMI-FINAL spots have been secured by Ennistymon and Éire Óg in the U21A football championship while all of the last four places are known in the B championship.

Blistering start sends Ennistymon on the way

Ennistymon 3-14
Wolfe Tones 1-7
Venue: Dr Hennessy Memorial Park, Miltown Malbay

A blistering start which yielded 3-2 without reply in the opening five minutes, set Ennistymon on the way to this victory over Wolfe Tones in the opening round of the under 21 football championship.

The game was played under lights at Hennessy park in Miltown on Sunday evening and the win has sent Ennistymon into the semi-final where they will face Corofin or the Shannon Gaels/Kilmihil/Kildysart/Coolmeen combination.

The early goals for the winners came from Diarmuid Fahy, Cillian Rouine and Niall Canavan and Ennistymon led 3-5 to 1-3 at half time.

Craig Riordan was the Shannon club’s goalscorer but that early blistering start by Ennistymon proved too much for Tones

Ennistymon: Conor Gallagher; Dara Rouine, Dara Conneally, Micheal Vaughan; Liam Cotter, David McNamara, Ciaran McMahon; Eoin Rouine, Brendy Rouine; Diarmuid Fahy, Cillian Rouine, John Murphy; Niall Canavan, Darren McNamara, Dara McInerney.
Subs: Niall Hogan, Rory Murphy, Colm Kearney, James Ahern, Christopher Organ.

Wolfe Tones: Liam O’Dwyer; Aaron Kelly, Eoin Casey, Alan O’Connor; Mark O’Sullivan, Daithi Lohan, Daniel Riordan; Dara Treacy, Liam Murphy; Ben O’Neill, Darragh Lohan, Darragh O’Neill; Gavin Carigg, Stephen Donnellan, Craig Riordan.
Subs: Conor Callaghan for A. O’Connor; Luke O; Neill for S. Donnellan

Fourteen man Éire Óg step up in second half

Éire Óg 2-9
St. Josephs Miltown 0-10
Venue: Éire Óg GAA Grounds, Ennis

Despite being reduced to fourteen men before half time when Frank Roche picked up a second yellow card, Éire Óg got the upperhand in the second half of this under 21A clash to record a merited win which has seen them progress to the semi-final where they will face either St. Josephs, Doora/Barefield or Kilmurry Ibrickane.

The visitors edged a hard fought first half and led by the minimum margin at half time but Éire Óg stepped up a gear in the second half.

Substitute Andrew McElwee scored both goals for the town side. During the course of the game the winners moved goalkeeper Niall O’Donoghue to their attack when the introduced Pat O’Keeffe who took over the goalkeeping duties.

Éire Óg; Niall O’Donoghue; Cuan O’Glascain, Manus Doherty, Frank Roche; Hugh Connolly, Ronan Lanigan, Gavin D’Auria; Oran Cahill, Jarlath Collins; Jack Joyce, Philip Talty, Ivan King; Stephen Talty, Stephen Dolan, Keith Moloney;
Subs: Andrew McElwee for Moloney; Pat O’Keeffe for S. Dolan; Sean Mullooly for Joyce.

St. Josephs Miltown: Mark Cunningham; Damian Devereaux, Euan Reidy, Tadhg Flynn; Padraig Devitt, Cian Flanagan, Cormac Devitt; Micheál Murray Oisin Looney; Liam Hehir, Cian Mahony, Zak Whelahan; Conaill Meade Jason Griffin, Euan Lineen;
Subs: Eanna O’Connor, Padraig Frawley SeanNeylon,, ronan Meade, Evan Crowley.

All so easy for Corofin

Corofin 5-15
Kilrush/Killimer 0-2
Venue: Captain Michael Tubridy Park, Kilrush

Corofin recorded a runaway win over Kilrush/Killimer in this under 21 A championship first round game on Sunday.

The winners were well on their way to the quarter final when they held a 3-5 to 0-0 lead at the first waterbreak, the goals coming from Killian O’Connor (2) and Robin Mounsey while Josh Ryan (2) and Gearoid Cahill (3) were the points scorers at that stage.

The winner’s other goalscorers were Cian O’Loughlin and Cian Doolin on a day when Corofin lined out without Diarmuid Cahill due to injury while they replaced Gearoid Cahill and Robin Mounsey at the first waterbreak.

Kilrush/Killimer lined out without any member of their minor team which qualified for the minor A championship final on the previous day.

Corofin: Luke Neylon; Gearoid Hanrahan, Mark O’Loughlin, Michael Cahill; Ashley Brohan, Gearoid Cahill, Adrian Shannon; Killian McGroary, Shane Punch; Cian Doolin, Robin Mounsey, Cian O’Loughlin; Josh Ryan, Killian O’Connor, Shane O’Brien;
Subs: Padraic Cleary for G. Cahill; Eoin Fitzgerald for R. Mounsey;

Kilrush/Killimer: Sean Grogan; Evan McInerney, Sean Purtill, James Browne; Kevin Hassett, Cathal McMahon, Norbert Kunicki; Dean Neary, Liam Culligan; Filip Ryzmek, Jamie Griffin Stephen Grogan; Eoin Fitzgerald, Luke Callinan, Joe Meehan.

Way is clear for U-21 B semi-finals

Meanwhile the way is clear for the semi-finals of the under 21 B championship after the weekend’s quarter final ties.

Extra time was required in Kilkee before the combination of Naomh Eoin/O’Currys and St. Senans saw off the challenge of Cratloe. The Westerners emerged with a 3-8 to 1-8 victory after the sides had tied at 1-7 each at the end of normal time.

Three goals from Shane Griffin, two from the penalty spot, steered Lissycasey to a 3-10 to 1-11 victory over Banner at the latter’s venue. The winners led by a goal, 1-7 to 0-7, at the interval

Clondegad made the journey to Cooraclare without a couple of players who were involved with the Ballyea senior hurlers and they emerged with a 3-7 to 1-10 victory over the home side.

Despite being short a number of first choice players, St. Breckans managed a comfortable 0-17 to 1-3 win over Parteen at the South Clare club’s venue.

The semi-final pairings are Lissycasey v Naomh Eoin/O’Currys/St. Senans and St. Breckans v Clondegad.

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks