Cian Barron received his marching orders for Doora/Barefield. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield have bowed out of the Munster intermediate hurling club championship.

Monaleen (Limerick) 2-13
St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield 0-16
Venue: Kilmallock GAA Grounds, Limerick

At three stages in the game, St Joseph’s held the lead but for each occasion this spell was far too brief.

Captain Tom Hannan put them in front at the beginning of the contest with three minutes played, only for Monaleen to respond with 1-01.

Ironically it was Hannan that gave them the lead again with fifty two minutes on the clock but crucially within sixteen seconds Monaleen equalised.

Cian Barron was then the man to step up to put The Parish ahead but in the space of seventy eight seconds, Mark O’Dwyer had the sliotar in the back of Paul Madden’s net.

This goal was a sucker punch and the Clare IHC champions did continue to fight back but the green flag was sufficient for Monaleen who had been outscored 0-11 1-07 in the second half, the wind having favoured Doora/Barefield.

O’Dwyer did very well to finish for the second goal but it will certainly irk The Parish men that he wasn’t pulled down to give away a free rather than a goal. The exact opposite occurred at the other end when nineteen year old Bryan Canny showed maturity beyond his years to instead allow David Conroy convert a placed ball.

Numbers were a source of much debate during the final moments. Monaleen somehow managed to have sixteen players on the field for three minutes, they only scored a free during this window but that it was allowed to happen was certainly of annoyance to the Doora/Barefield camp.

A straight red card to Cian Barron ensured Monaleen were legitimately given a numbers advantage to see out the game.

Use of the wind gave Monaleen the opportunity to build up a sizeable half time advantage but the margin of four points arose due to their inability to maximise their chances in front of goal. Use of the ball hindered Doora/Barefield in the opening half with two scores alone conceded when hitting the ball straight to Lorcan Lyons while their own puckouts needed to be smarter to counteract the breeze.

Donnacha Ó Dálaigh’s green flag came straight from a puckout, Ed Doyle fetched the sliotar in the sky before offloading to Mark O’Dwyer, he drew a tackle and then found the corner forward who buried the ball to the roof of the net.

Despite limiting Monaleen to just two points in the third quarter and dominating possession, Michael Guilfoyle’s side hit over 0-04 which was not enough to nudge in front.

Having been viewed as the favourites to win the provincial title, Monaleen’s place in the final comes as no great surprise. Lorcan Lyons, Bryan Canny and Donnacha Ó Dálaigh were best for the winners.

Returning to the senior ranks will soon occupy the thoughts of Doora/Barefield who will certainly feel this contest is one they could have prevailed in. Their top performers on the day included Fionn Kelleher, Adam Mungovan and David Conroy.

Scorers Monaleen: Mark O’Dwyer (1-06 6f), Donnacha O’Dalaigh (1-02), Luke Murphy (0-02), Ed Doyle (0-02), Lorcan Lyons (0-01).

Scorers St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield: David Conroy (0-06 3f), Tom Hannan (0-04), Alan O’Neill (0-02), Cathal Ruane (0-02), Cian Barron (0-01), Senan Crosbie (0-01).

1: Jamie Power

4: Jamie Porter
3: Bryan Canny
2: Lee Morrison

5: Darren Golden O’Mahony
6: Lorcan Lyons
7: Ronan Lyons

8: Joseph Fitzgerald
9: Lochlann McHale

15: Luke Murphy
11: Mark O’Dwyer
10: Dan Power

14: Ed Doyle
12: John Nicholas
13: Donnacha Ó Dálaigh


19: Andrew La Touche Cosgrave for Golden O’Mahony (23)
24: David Moloney for Nicholas (37)
18: Simon Griffin for D Power (49)
20: Ben Hayes for Porter (67) (inj)

St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield:
1: Paul Madden

2: Fionn Kelleher
3: Jarlath Colleran
4: Brian Clancy

10: Jack Hannan
6: Darragh McMahon
7: Adam Mungovan

21: Darragh Nagle
17: Darragh O’Shea

15: Cian Barron
30: Alan O’Neill
12: Tom Hannan

11: David Conroy
14: Eoin Hanrahan
20: Cathal Ruane

8: Brian Guilfoyle for Clancy (42)
22: Senan Crosbie for Hanrahan (51)
9: Donal O’Halloran for McMahon (55)
19: Matthew Power for Ruane (59)

Referee: Ciaran O’Regan (Cork)

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks