No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

A first Dr Harty Cup semi-final awaits St Joseph’s of Tulla after another spirited fightback earned them victory over Cork’s Christian Brothers College at Kilmallock on Saturday afternoon.

St Joseph’s Secondary School, Tulla 1-17
Christian Brothers College (Cork) 1-15
Venue: Kilmallock

Having battled to force extra time and then win against St Colman’s College of Fermoy at the end of November, St Joseph’s again found themselves in a tough spot as they trailed by 1-9 to 0-5 at half-time, having scored just a point in the second quarter.

However, down by six at the second water break, they clawed their way back to within two points and though Christians looked set to push on again with two points of their own, Tulla were not to be denied.

Seán Withycombe’s 13th point of the game was followed by a score from midfielder Daragh Keogh as the game moved into injury time before a goalmouth scramble ended with corner-back Dara Ryan firing home a goal. It was the first time they had led since just before the first-half water break and the lead was solidified as Withycombe sent over a 65.

While Christians sought a late game-saving intervention, their efforts were repelled and Tulla held out to progress to a last-four meeting with either Nenagh CBS or Waterford’s De La Salle.

Tulla started well and Withycombe had three early frees as they led by 0-4 to 0-2 after 12 minutes. Daire Burke and Eoin O’Leary had Christians level at 0-4 each by the time of the first water break, though, and the second quarter belonged to the Cork city school.

After O’Leary put them in front for the first time, Withycombe replied but Tulla were held scoreless for the remainder of the half and, with Mikey Finn impressing at wing-forward, Christians pushed on. David Cremin had a nice point while O’Leary landed the frees that accrued and they were 0-9 to 0-5 in front as the end of the 30 minutes neared.

Then, in the second minute of injury time, things got even better for them as Finn won a Tulla puckout and then sent a searching ball in to Burke, who showed good composure to create space and fire to the net.

Tulla refused to give in, however. Two points were shaved off the deficit as Withycombe had a pair of early frees and the switching of full-back Adam Hogan – booked early on – with centre-back Tony Leyden helped to steady things at the back as Christians were limited to just two points from the play in the entire second half.

Nevertheless, the exchange of frees between O’Leary and Withycombe ensured that Christians still held a 1-13 to 0-10 advantage at the second water break. Withycombe had scored just before the pause and he added three more in quick succession before Ronan O’Connor but the gap to just two points in the 53rd minute.

An O’Leary free and then his first from play – his 11th overall – gave Christians breathing space, but Tulla were not to be denied.

Scorers for St Joseph’s: Seán Withycombe 0-14 (0-12f, 0-1 65), Dara Ryan 1-0, Daragh Keogh, Ronan O’Connor, Fionn Hickey 0-1 each.

Scorers for CBC: Eoin O’Leary 0-11 (0-10f), Daire Burke 1-2, David Cremin, Eoghan Kirby 0-1 each.

1. Aaron Shanahan (Tulla)

2. Dara Ryan (Tulla)
3. Adam Hogan (Feakle)
4. Fionn Ryan (Tulla)

5. Mikey McMahon (O’Callaghan’s Mills)
6. Tony Leyden (Tulla)
7. Oisín Clune (Feakle)

8. Ronan O’Connor (Feakle)
9. Daragh Keogh (Clooney-Quin)

10. Oisín O’Connor (Feakle)
11. Seán Withycombe (Tulla)
12. Fionn Hickey (O’Callaghan’s Mills)

15. Eoghan McMahon (Crusheen)
14. Aron Curtis (Tulla)
13. Colm Cleary (O’Callaghan’s Mills)

18. Conor O’Donnell (O’Callaghan’s Mills) for Curtis (40)
17. Evan Maxted (Clooney-Quin) for E McMahon (46)
20. Gearóid Vaughan (Broadford) for Ryan (60, injured)

CBC Cork:

1. E O’Neill (Blarney)

2. Darragh Murphy (Blarney)
3. Shane Kingston (Ballinora)
4. Louis Casey (Sarsfields)

5. James Dwyer (Ballincollig)
7. Eoin Downey (Glen Rovers)
6. Cormac McDonnell (Erin’s Own)

8. Rhys Dunne (Glen Rovers)
26. Brian Keating (Ballincollig)

10. Cillian Egan (Whitechurch)
11. Eoghan Kirby (Blarney)
12. Mikey Finn (Midleton)

14. Eoin O’Leary (Glen Rovers)
13. Daire Burke (Douglas)
15. David Cremin (Midleton)

9. Peter Linehan (Blackrock) for Dunne (46)
28. Jeremy Kingston (Sarsfields) for Egan (58)

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks