No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

ST FLANNAN’S COLLEGE are Dean Ryan champions for the thirteenth time. 

St Flannan’s College 3-16
Ard Scoil Rís 0-16
Venue: TUS Gaelic Grounds, Limerick

Regardless of the result, the fact that 26 of the 35 hurlers that lined out in Wednesday’s Dean Ryan (Munster PPS U16.5) final were from Clare is a huge plus for hurling in the county. The resurgence of St Flannan’s College is indeed a positive sign with the latest piece of silverware following the Harty Cup title of 2020, indeed two sets of brothers Conner and James Hegarty plus Peter and Michael Power form links in both successes.

Their nine point win over Ard Scoil Rís stands as the thirteenth time St Flannan’s have claimed the title, the nine point win is their first time securing the Dean Ryan since 2011.

A powerful second half in which they outscored the Limerick outfit 3-10 0-08 saw them secure the win. Clonlara’s Eoin Begley produced the best scores of the opening half but despite Ard Scoil having control, they only held a two point advantage with efforts from Michael Power, Fred Hegarty and freetaker Oisin Whelan keeping St Flannan’s in touch.

Sam Scanlan’s introduction from the bench was an immediate boost for the Ennis college who hit the first four points of the second half.

All spectators would likely agree that a goal was going to have a big influence on proceedings and when full-forward Oisin Whelan was on the end of a well-worked move involving Luca Cleary and Kieran McDonnell to hit the net, the momentum swung firmly in the direction of St Flannan’s.

At the other end, corner back Joseph Casey made a vital interception to stop a promising Ard Scoil attack, the concession of a goal here was probable. Moments previously, goalkeeper Cian Howard pulled off a fine save to deny Sean Arthur and to keep St Flannan’s in control.

Arthur would be the main scorer for the Liam Cronin coached outfit in the dying moments but crucially St Flannan’s College would step up with not one but two goals as Luca Cleary and captain Dylan Keane Hayes buried efforts past John O’Connor.

Alongside Newmarket-on-Fergus’ Michael Donnellan, the St Flannan’s management included Jamesie O’Connor and Tony Kelly, this Dean Ryan success will be viewed as a major win and follows the Harty Cup success of 2020. Luca Cleary, Fiachra Ó Braoin, Cian Howard and James Hegarty were best for the winners.

Much like their vocal supporters, Ard Scoil Rís started with aplomb but were totally quietened by the closing stages. Matthew O’Halloran, Diarmuid Stritch and Eoin Begley were liveliest for the Derek Larkin managed side.

Further contests between these two sides are likely in what has the potential to develop into a healthy hurling rivalry. In what must be a positive for Clare hurling, 26 of the 35 hurlers that featured were from the Banner County.

Scorers St Flannan’s College: O Whelan (1-07 4f), D Keane Hayes (1-01), L Cleary (1-00), F Hegarty (0-02), E Kennedy (0-01), M Power (0-01), T Collins (0-01), S Scanlan (0-01), T Boddy (0-01), J Mescall (0-01)

Scorers Ard Scoil Rís: D Chaplin (0-07 6f), S Arthur (0-04 4f), E Begley (0-02), F O’Brien (0-01), S Duff (0-01), M O’Brien (0-01).

St Flannan’s College:
1: Cian Howard (Éire Óg, Clare)

2: Joseph Casey (Kilmaley, Clare)
3: Fiachra Ó Braoin (Sixmilebridge, Clare)
4: Paddy Nagle (St Josephs Doora/Barefield, Clare)

7: Ronan Kilroy (The Banner, Clare)
6: James Hegarty (Inagh/Kilnamona, Clare)
5: Tiernan Collins (Clarecastle, Clare)

9: Eoin Kennedy (Ballyea, Clare)
8: Dylan Keane Hayes (Kilmaley, Clare)

10: Mark O’Connor (St Josephs Doora/Barefield, Clare)
11: Fred Hegarty (Inagh/Kilnamona, Clare)
12: Jack Mescall (Inagh/Kilnamona, Clare)

13: Michael Power (Newmarket-on-Fergus, Clare)
14: Oisin Whelan (Clarecastle, Clare)
15: Luca Cleary (Éire Óg, Clare)

25: Sam Scanlan (Clooney/Quin, Clare) for O’Connor (36)
18: Kieran McDonnell (Ballyea, Clare) for Power (42)
19: Tadhg Boddy (Bruff, Limerick) for Kennedy (48)

Ard Scoil Rís:
1: John O’Connor (Ahane, Limerick)

4: John O’Keeffe (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)
3: Jamie Moylan (Cratloe, Clare)
2: James Finn (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

5: Sean Duff (Mungret St Pauls, Limerick)
6: Sean McMahon (Smith O’Briens, Clare)
7: Darragh Horkan (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

9: Fintan Fitzgerald (Mungret St Pauls, Limerick)
8: Matthew O’Halloran (Sixmilebridge, Clare)

10: Niall Liddane (Sixmilebridge, Clare)
11: Diarmuid Stritch (Clonlara, Clare)
12: Fionn O’Brien (Bruree, Limerick)

13: Marc O’Brien (Cratloe, Clare)
14: Danny Chaplin (Sixmilebridge, Clare)
15: Eoin Begley (Clonlara, Clare)

17: Sean Arthur (Newmarket-on-Fergus, Clare) for Liddane (36)
20: Patrick Kearney (Adare, Limerick) for Chaplin (50)

Referee: Tom McGrath (Tipperary)

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks