No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Gary Cooney gets to the ball ahead of Noel Connors. Photograph: Martin Connolly

Sean Doyle has named his starting team for his first tie as manager of the Clare U20 hurling team.

They travel to Páirc Uí Rinn on Wednesday to face off in the Munster semi-final, the Rebels coming into the tie off the back of a seven point quarter-final win over Limerick. Gary Cooney of O’Callaghans Mills has been announced as captain with Killian McDermott of Clarecastle the vice-captain.

Doyle is joined on his management team by 1995 All-Ireland winner Jim McInerney and Ger Rodgers of Scariff as selectors. Limerick native Val Murnane and Evan Kilroy who was part of John Carmody’s setup last year are their two coaches.

Doolin2Aran Ferries

Corner back Bradley Higgins is a long-term injury (cruciate ligament) with Cian Minouge and Robin Mounsey also ruled out of Wednesday’s tie which throws in at 19:30.

Five of the Clare team were part of the senior panel this year, Diarmuid Ryan, Aidan McCarthy all received some game-time with Ross Hayes and Rian Considine part of the extended panel.

These teams did face off in the 2017 Munster final in which Cork prevailed 4-21 0-16, eight members of the Banner team featured in the seventeen point loss with twelve of the Leesiders named in Denis Ring’s lineup.

1: Eamonn Foudy (Inagh/Kilnamona)
2: Keith White (Inagh/Kilnamona)
3: Aron Moloney (Kilmaley)
4: Peter Casey (Ballyea)
5: Darragh Lohan (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
6: Ross Hayes (Crusheen)
7: Dylan McMahon (Clonlara)
8: Aidan McCarthy (Inagh/Kilnamona)
9: Killian McDermott (Clarecastle)
10: Aidan Moriarty (Clonlara)
11: Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe)
12: Rian Considine (Cratloe)
13: Mark Rodgers (Scariff)
14: Gary Cooney (O’Callaghans Mills)
15: Breffni Horner (Crusheen)

16: Cillian O’Brien (Clonlara)
17: Paddy Donnellan (Broadford)
18: Jathan McMahon (Clonlara)
19: Cathal Darcy (Kilmaley)
20: William Halpin (Tulla)
21: Darren Cullinan (Inagh/Kilnamona)
22: Tiernan Agnew (Sixmilebridge)
23: Keelan Guyler (Inagh/Kilnamona)
24: Cian McInerney (Inagh/Kilnamona)

1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)
2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtarrife)

3. James Keating (Kildorrery) (captain)

4. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)
5. Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills)

6. Sean O’ Leary Hayes (Midleton)
7. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)

8. Tommy O’ Connell (Midleton)
9. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)

10. Sean Twomey (Courcey Rovers)
11. Craig Hanifin (Na Piarsaigh)

12. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)

13. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)
14. Shane O’Regan (Watergrasshill)

15. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh).
16. Ian Butler (Kildorrery)

17. Ryan Walsh (Kanturk)

18. Ronan Sheehan (Mallow)

19. Jamie Copps (Ballyhea)

20. Declan Hanlon (Blarney)

21. Simon Kennefick (Glen Rovers)

22. Liam O’ Shea (Lisgoold)

23. Barry Murphy (Castlelyons)

24. Padraig Power (Blarney).

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

* indicates required

Related News

Scroll to Top