Latest News County Clare

Cooney & Ryan given starting spots for Clare footballers

in Home/Sport by

*Gavin Cooney. Photograph: Martin Connolly

Clare have made two changes for Saturday’s All-Ireland SFC round two qualifier with Leitrim from the side that exited the Munster SFC at the hands of Kerry earlier this month.

Kevin Harnett is ruled out through injury, he sustained a broken cheek bone and concussion in the six point defeat to Kerry and his place at corner back has been taken by Dean Ryan.

Up front, Gavin Cooney starts at corner forward with Doonbeg’s David Tubridy moving to the edge of the square and Darragh Bohannon of Shannon Gaels dropping out of the team as a result.

1: Stephen Ryan (Kilrush Shamrocks)
2: Dean Ryan (Na Fianna)
3: Cillian Brennan (Clondegad)
4: Gordon Kelly (St Josephs Miltown)
5: Conall Ó hÁiniféin (Éire Óg)
6: Aaron Fitzgerald (Éire Óg)
7: Sean Collins (Cratloe)
8: Gary Brennan (Clondegad)
9: Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen)
10: Sean O’Donoghue (Cooraclare)
11: Eoin Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
12: Jamie Malone (Corofin)
13: Gavin Cooney (Éire Óg)
14: David Tubridy (Doonbeg)
15: Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top