No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Michael Stritch attempts to clear his lines. Photograph: John Mangan

Clonlara were not deterred by the concession of two first half goals as they overcame St Josephs Doora/Barefield to progress to the semi-finals of the Clare U21 A hurling championship.

Clonlara 1-13
St Josephs Doora/Barefield 2-09
Venue: Dr Stuart Park, Ogonnelloe

Both sides were quarter-finalists last year, Clonlara exiting at the stage to Inagh/Kilnamona while St Josephs Doora/Barefield prevailed in extra time against Clarecastle. However the roles were reversed in Ogonnelloe on Saturday as the Dermot McMahon managed South East Clare side booked their spot in the last four where they will face either Kilmaley or Clarecastle.

Luke Carmody under pressure. Photograph: John Mangan

Captain Conor Tierney goaled twice in the opening half as Doora/Barefield hit 2-02 against the elements. Clonlara through Micheál Stritch had a goal of their own and backed it up with points from Jathan McMahon, Sean Begley, Cillian O’Brien and Conor Bourke to to lead by six at the interval.

Although they only added two points in the second half, Clonlara still held on to win. The Parish had three scoring bursts, hitting two points without reply in a two minute spell, three points in a three minute spell (all from Cathal Ruane) and their final two white flags in the space of three minutes. Ultimately for them, their seven point tally with the advantage of the wind didn’t match the 1-11 their opponents popped over in the opening half.

Joey Keane tries to clear his lines. Photograph: John Mangan

Suspended for the quarter-final win, Dylan McMahon is expected to return to the Clonlara lineup for their semi-final clash with Inagh/Kilnamona. Jathan McMahon, Colm O’Meara and Conor Bourke did well for the winners.

With several players from last year’s lineup still eligible for the grade, Doora/Barefield had their eyes on returning to the semi-finals. However it would prove to be their second half tally that ultimately came back to bite them. The focus for them must now be on blending the U21s into the intermediate panel as they attempt to pick themselves up from the disappointment of losing the Clare IHC final to Broadford in 2019. Conor Tierney, Cathal Ruane, Adam Mungovan, Keelan Butler and Darragh O’Shea all featured regularly for their intermediates last year.


1: Cillian O’Brien

2: Daniel Moloney
3: Michael Stritch
4: Logan Ryan

5: Tom Egan
6: Colm O’Meara
7: Tommy Walsh

8: Jathan McMahon
9: Sean Begley

10: Aidan Moriarty
11: Conor Bourke
12: Louis McCormack

13: Micheál Stritch
14: Tom Power
15: Andrew Fitzgerald

St Josephs Doora/Barefield

1: Brendan Cleland

2: Ronan Foley
3: Adam Mungovan
4: Conor Hehir

5: Conor Kearns
6: Joey Keane
7: Keelan Butler

9: Darragh O’Shea
8: Luke Carmody

10: Fionn O’Brien
11: Eoghan Thynne
12: Cathal Ruane

13: Matthew Power
14: Conor Tierney
15: Dylan Mulligan

Referee: Neil O’Brien (O’Callaghans Mills)

Related News

Scroll to Top