Latest News County Clare

Clare’s All-Ireland & Munster winners set to gain free entry to GAA games

in Home/Sport by

*Members of the 2013 panel. Photograph: Joe Buckley

Clare’s All-Ireland hurling winners from 1995, 1997 and 2013 along with provincial victors from 95, 97, 98 and the Munster football champions of 1992 are set to be allowed free entry to all GAA games within the county from next year onwards.

It follows a motion from Sixmilebridge to the Annual Convention of Clare GAA which asked that “all holders of provincial and All-Ireland senior medals with Clare are given a lifetime pass to attend all GAA fixtures held in the county free of charge”.

“We have been very lucky to enjoy provincial and All-Ireland success in both codes,” Public relations officer with Sixmilebridge, Syl O’Connor told the meeting. “This would be a fantastic gesture from the county to acknowledge these achievements”. His motion was seconded without complaint from any club.

Chairman, Joe Cooney confirmed they would look into the proposal and joked, “Syl you’ll have to have a chat with our Treasurer”.

Representatives from the historic Banner outfit from the nineties are regular attendees at games across the county. The side managed by Ger Loughnane and captained by Anthony Daly captured the imagination of hurling followers across the land and led a hurling revolution in a memorable decade for the game.

Fond memories are often recalled of Clare’s 92 Munster Final win over Kerry The John Maughan side prevailed on a scoreline of 2-10 0-12 with goals from Colm Clancy and Martin Daly to win their first provincial crown in 75 years. The Gaelic Grounds encounter is also noteworthy as the occasion in which Marty Morrissey uttered the now infamous line, “There won’t be a cow milked in Clare tonight” as Doonbeg’s Francis McInerney received the trophy.

Of the 2013 panel, the majority of players are still lining out at club level. Davy Fitzgerald’s side recorded victories over Laois, Wexford, Galway and Limerick before overcoming Cork after a replay to ensure Patrick Donnellan brought Liam McCarthy home. An exhibition of hurling in the replay followed with Shane O’Donnell netting a hat-trick as Conor McGrath scored one of the best goals in an All-Ireland final with Clonlara’s Darach Honan also raising a green flag.

Interestingly, two of the goal scorers Darach Honan (2013 final) and Martin Daly (92 final) are both columnists with The Clare Echo.

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top